Posted by: heisourstrongtower | September 12, 2016

Giving Up Control

I am going to begin this post with a confession.  I have not been attending church.

I have been somewhat of a lost sheep, as far as a church home, the last year or so.  When the Pastor at the church I was attending started preaching the prosperity gospel…I had to walk away.

To be totally honest, I did not leave the church as soon as it became apparent to me that his message was no longer biblical, because my grandchildren were enjoying their services.  When they became disinterested in what they were being taught, according to them the were learning the same things each month, my husband and I stopped attending.

It took me awhile to get over, and to come to terms with how my Pastor had changed.  I did try to attend church, but it was a half-hearted attempt. My heart was not in it.

Two weeks ago, my grandchildren were spending the night and Avery was with me at the dining room table.  She asked me a convicting question, “Mae Mae, why don’t you go to church anymore?” Her question was convicting, but I chose not to be open with her and answer her question.  I did not take the high road, I asked her the very same question, “Avery, why don’t you go to church anymore?”  It then became a tennis match, we sat there for a couple of minutes bouncing that question back and forth.  Not my proudest moment.  Her question made an impact though.  Her point was driven home further when, the very next week her dad asked me if I was still attending church. I did not deflect the question with child-like behavior, this time.

I took ownership and admitted that I wasn’t attending church and that I needed to do some church searching and some soul searching! I came to a couple of conclusions, I needed to get my life centered back on Christ and that can’t be done through a strictly on-line focused study.  I need to be present with other believers, live and in person. And I need to be honest about my faith life journey with all of you, otherwise I am just lukewarm!!

I am very happy to report that Peter and I attended church yesterday!  We both really liked it and feel they have a Bible believing/teaching Pastor.  But I will be more cautious than I was before and I will give it some time before we totally commit to being a part of this church family.

Now, before I share the first step in the 8 step process for Letting Go and Letting God, I also wanted to share a few things from the sermon yesterday.

  1. We must examine ourselves on a weekly basis – what did we do this week that put God back on the cross.
  2. We can’t live short-sighted, we need to be heavenly minded.  Discipline our lives so we will receive our reward. Make meeting Jesus face to face as our ultimate goal.
  3. Every morning put on the Armour of God and lay claim to who we are in Jesus.
  4. Make sure that we are standing on the promises, and not just sitting on the premises.
  5. And stop focusing on the present troubles, which could lead us to lose our hope in the future.

This song called O Come to the Altar touched my heart at the end of the service, another reason I felt more at home at this church. They actually had an altar call.  The congregants were invited to come forward to pray or to talk to one of the elders about accepting Jesus into their heart.  I would appreciate your prayers for wisdom and discernment regarding our new church home too, friends!

 

Moving on now, to the first step…

I came across this blog through searching on pinterest a few weeks back.  I felt that the information she provided was solid and biblical.  I read about her story and how she came to know Jesus…I feel she is the real deal, and I loved the fact that it says, “Helping Women Be Victorious Through Christ” on her website!  I thought she was speaking to us Women of Victory!!

How to Let Go and Let God

Above is the link to the full post, but I want to work on one step per day.  You will also find a link to a worksheet that can be printed off and used for each situation you need help with letting go and giving over to God.

The first step is to Identify the problem or problems, but only work on one problem at a time. Ask God to help you identify which problem should be dealt with first. Write your problems down in a journal and give them up to God to prioritize them for you.

I will be back tomorrow to discuss the second step with you and to, maybe, share what I learned during the identification process.

let-go

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

