Posted by: heisourstrongtower | April 19, 2014

Women of the Bible Study ~ Focus on the Dance

It has been one of those weeks at my house this week.  I had what I believed to be allergies that started on Sunday, but this has slowly progressed to something much different.  I have been walking around with foggy brain and could really not concentrate on this weeks readings, which truly is a shame since the focus from our authors is on the dance, one of my favorite forms of exercise, that Miriam and the other women did after the parting of the red sea.  

 For when the horses of Pharaoh with his chariots and his horsemen went into the sea, the Lord brought back the waters of the sea upon them, but the people of Israel walked on dry ground in the midst of the sea. 20 Then Miriam the prophetess, the sister of Aaron, took a tambourine in her hand, and all the women went out after her with tambourines and dancing. 21 And Miriam sang to them:

“Sing to the Lord, for he has triumphed gloriously;
the horse and his rider he has thrown into the sea.” Exodus 15:19-21

This has been a difficult week for me in more ways than one…just last Friday, my daughter and I committed to stop the maybe’s and want to’s and I promise tomorrow’s…and really work toward our goal of living a more healthy life, with intention and accountability.  And then I got sick…I attempted to stay with the week’s program, but the outdoors was not my friend and I would get winded easier. (*As I typed that sentence I remembered something that I need to do in order to achieve my goal…more on that later).

I just knew that God had orchestrated the links, at least in my mind, between my healthy lifestyle and the story of Miriam.  I know that in order to stay on track I have to be centered on God and not give voice to the thoughts in my head that want to hold me back from walking in God’s will for my life.

“Miriam and Aaron spoke against Moses because of the Cushite woman whom he had married, for he had married a Cushite woman. And they said, “Has the Lord indeed spoken only through Moses?Has he not spoken through us also?” And the Lord heard it. Now the man Moses was very meek, more than all people who were on the face of the earth. And suddenly the Lord said to Moses and to Aaron and Miriam, “Come out, you three, to the tent of meeting.” And the three of them came out.And the Lord came down in a pillar of cloud and stood at the entrance of the tent and called Aaron and Miriam, and they both came forward. And he said, “Hear my words: If there is a prophet among you, I the Lord make myself known to him in a vision; I speak with him in a dream. Not so with my servant Moses. He is faithful in all my house. With him I speak mouth to mouth, clearly, and not in riddles, and he beholds the form of the Lord. Why then were you not afraid to speak against my servant Moses?” And the anger of the Lord was kindled against them, and he departed.

10 When the cloud removed from over the tent, behold, Miriam was leprous, like snow. And Aaron turned toward Miriam, and behold, she was leprous. 11 And Aaron said to Moses, “Oh, my lord, do not punish us because we have done foolishly and have sinned. 12 Let her not be as one dead, whose flesh is half eaten away when he comes out of his mother’s womb.” 13 And Moses cried to the Lord, “O God, please heal her—please.” 14 But the Lord said to Moses, “If her father had but spit in her face, should she not be shamed seven days? Let her be shut outside the camp seven days, and after that she may be brought in again.” 15 So Miriam was shut outside the camp seven days, and the people did not set out on the march till Miriam was brought in again.”

It did not take Miriam long from her time of dancing and singing to God to become an angry and bitter woman who was complaining about God’s emissary on this journey.  There is a lesson in this for me that I need to take with me on my journey…I can not become discouraged by the lack of tangible progress as I “Commit to be Fit”.  I got in this shape over a two-year time period…it will not happen overnight.  And I know I got in this condition when I took control over my food choices.  

Back in 2012 I was leading a study of the book Made to Crave and I put together something that worked really well for me to keep me on track.  I need to go back to that because it really did keep me focused on God’s will for my body…not my own crazy cravings!  

So, moving forward this is what I want to focus on.

“So, here is my plan for living a healthy lifestyle…I am going to first and foremost go to God every day in prayer and stay focused on His book of Truth. I am going to remind myself every day of all that He has done for me and that He made us all to Crave Him and only Him. I am not going to buy those foods that are not good for me, which in turn is not good for my body.  I will continue to exercise every day for at least 30 minutes and this is the most important one for me…*I will not allow excuses or justifications come out of my mouth.”

 That last part of that sentence is what I was reminded of earlier in this post.  I am also going to use a Bible verse to remind me of who and what I was made for…

“Looking at it one way, you could say, “Anything goes. Because of God’s immense generosity and grace, we don’t have to dissect and scrutinize every action to see if it will pass muster.” But the point is not to just get by. We want to live well, but our foremost efforts should be to help others live well”  1 Corinthians 10:23-24

bible verse

In its’ proper context, these verses are not about eating right or exercising, they are about looking out for the best interests of others and putting the concerns of others above your own.  But as long as we know that ahead of time, we can still take them and use them to help us in our struggles to get our bodies right with God, because as you will see verse 31 of 1 Corinthians 10 says this…

31 So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

1-cor-10-31-web-watermarked

God’s ways or not my ways and His understanding is much bigger than mine.  It is not up to me to question how He works or how He helps me to be the best I can be for Him…it is my job to be obedient and to follow the path that He has laid out for me…no matter how strange of a journey it might seem to me or to others.  God used Miriam’s story to remind me of my path and that I am to look, first, to what concerns Him and, then, to what is in the best interest of others.

So, with that thought in mind…I wanted to share with you all that my daughter and I have started a page on facebook to encourage and motivate others to begin to live their best life ever.  We are also committed to allowing others to motivate, encourage and hold us accountable to living our best life…all to the glory and honor of the Lord.

Here is a link to our page on facebook, please feel free to like, comment, share, motivate, encourage and hold accountable.

https://www.facebook.com/committobefitwithus

Dear Lord, thank You for this journey with Miriam.  Thank You for reminding me of who I am through and in You. My commitment is to You first and always and I will do my best to live this life, You died and rose again to give me, praising, dancing, eating, drinking, exercising…whatever I do…for Your honor and glory. Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

