Posted by: heisourstrongtower | April 9, 2014

WOBS ~ Wednesday Reflection Questions ~ The Mothers of Moses

Read Exodus 2:1-10

The Birth of Moses

Now a man from the house of Levi went and took as his wife a Levite woman. The woman conceived and bore a son, and when she saw that he was a fine child, she hid him three months.When she could hide him no longer, she took for him a basket made of bulrushes and daubed it with bitumen and pitch. She put the child in it and placed it among the reeds by the river bank. Andhis sister stood at a distance to know what would be done to him. Now the daughter of Pharaoh came down to bathe at the river, while her young women walked beside the river. She saw the basket among the reeds and sent her servant woman, and she took it. When she opened it, she saw the child, and behold, the baby was crying. She took pity on him and said, “This is one of the Hebrews’ children.” Then his sister said to Pharaoh’s daughter, “Shall I go and call you a nurse from the Hebrew women to nurse the child for you?” And Pharaoh’s daughter said to her, “Go.” So the girl went and called the child’s mother. And Pharaoh’s daughter said to her, “Take this child away and nurse him for me, and I will give you your wages.” So the woman took the child and nursed him.10 When the child grew older, she brought him to Pharaoh’s daughter, and he became her son. She named him Moses, “Because,” she said, “I drew him out of the water.”

And Hebrews 11:23

23 “By faith Moses, when he was born, was hidden for three months by his parents, because they saw that the child was beautiful, and they were not afraid of the king’s edict.”

1. What can you learn from Jochabed as a person from what she does at each point in this story?

2. Why do you think Pharoah’s daughter wanted to keep the baby as her own?

I truly believe that God softened Pharoah’s daughter’s heart and made her fall in love with this little baby and made her want to protect Moses and keep him safe, especially from her father.

3. Why do you think her father (and possibly her husband, if she had one) let her break the law and adopt this foreign baby?

4. Hebrews 11:23 says Moses’ parents acted “by faith.”  What part does faith play in child rearing? In what ways have you had to choose between faith and fear as a parent?

5. Where was God in this story? What does this say about God in your story?

God was smack dab in the middle of this story and because of the faith that Jochabed had in Him she was able to see His extraordinary work in the life of her baby.  I mean she literally took her hands off of Moses and sent him floating down a dangerous river, totally trusting God to keep him safe.  She choose faith over fear and I need to do the exact same thing in God’s story for my life!

As I was putting this post together, this picture practically dropped right into my computer and it gave me some food for thought.  Parts of it I truly believe speak of God to me…but it is missing some words that I feel should never be left unspoken; I choose faith over fear!

2c19f6b2adf8ae364905e0f4f08806b5

Dear God,

Fear is a bully, a bully that does likes to lurk in the dark and taunt and tease.  Please help me to be more like Jochabed, help me to choose faith over fear, just like she did.  Shine a light on all the dark places where my fear hides and bring it out into the light where only You reside and my faith will flourish.  I choose You, I choose Love, I choose Light, I choose Faith over fear!  In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

