Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 12, 2014

WOBS ~ Focus on Rachel ~ Wednesday Reflection Questions

Read Genesis 29:26 ~ 30:24

Genesis 29:26 – 30:24 ESV

1. How do you think most women would respond to the situation in which Rachel found herself at the beginning of her marriage (Genesis 29:30)?  How would they treat the other sister/wife?

As I have read about the women of the Bible in this study it appears to me that it was a regular practice to have more than one wife.  It was not unusual to give your husband a servant to conceive a child, if you were not able to do so on your own.  I believe that it was a normal situation, however, I also believe that Rachel felt that she was going to be Jacob’s wife first and therefore it was probably very upsetting to her, when she became aware of her father’s deception.  

2. Many women over the centuries have suffered the agony that Rachel expresses in Genesis 30:1.  How did Rachel’s close relationship with Leah increase her pain?  How could their close relationship have eased her pain instead?

3. Discontentment is insidious.  It traps us into thinking what was enough is no longer enough.  Yet it’s normal to long for things like love and children.  What do you long for that you don’t have? How can you tell if you’re longing has turned from good desire to harmful discontent?

What I long for the most in this life, is that my loved ones accept Jesus as their Lord and Savior.  I believe that this can turn into harmful discontent if I allow myself to think that God has forgotten us or is not moving in their lives.

Read Genesis 35:16-20

16 Then they journeyed from Bethel. When they were still some distance[a] from Ephrath, Rachel went into labor, and she had hard labor. 17 And when her labor was at its hardest, the midwife said to her, “Do not fear, for you have another son.” 18 And as her soul was departing (for she was dying), she called his name Ben-oni;[b] but his father called him Benjamin.[c] 19 So Rachel died, and she was buried on the way to Ephrath (that is, Bethlehem), 20 and Jacob set up a pillar over her tomb. It is the pillar of Rachel’s tomb, which is there to this day.

Footnotes:

  1. Genesis 35:16 Or about two hours’ distance
  2. Genesis 35:18 Ben-oni could mean son of my sorrow, or son of my strength
  3. Genesis 35:18 Benjamin means son of the right hand

4. Given that they were on a journey, how would you describe the situation under which Rachel likely gave birth?

5. What Rachel most wanted – a child – cost her life.  Think about what you long for. What price would you pay?  What price, to yourself or others, is too high?

This question is a difficult one to answer, since as I stated I long for my loved ones to all be saved.  I don’t know if there is a price too high to pay for the salvation of my loved ones.  I need to really meditate on this question and think carefully about it.

Lord-remember-me2

Thursday Reflection

You will notice that I have not answered all of the questions for this weeks reading.  I don’t know why, but I had a hard time with this weeks questions.  There are two questions this week that I felt took precedent over the rest, at least in my mind and life; questions 3 and 5.

I actually read the Thursday reading last night, while I was still struggling with question #3 and it provided me with the words I was trying to express.  Today’s reading discusses Genesis 30:22 ~ “Then God remembered Rachel, and God listened to her and opened her womb.”

The authors of this study took the perspective that the word remembered meant that God loved Rebekah. He had never forgotten her…this is how the authors put it.

“No, when the Bible says God remembers something, it expresses God’s love and compassion for His people.  It reminds us of God’s promise never to abandon us or leave us without support or relief.  He will never forsake us. He will never forget us. He will always remember us.”

These words are going to help me as I concentrate on “what I long for most in this world”.  But, I could not leave it here; I needed to do a little bit of research on the word remembered in this verse, for myself.  I just felt that something was missing and I found or maybe I should say I was reminded of the fact that “faith without works is dead”.  There is an action required of me…prayer.  God remembered Rachel not just because He loved her…He was moved into action by the fact that she prayed to Him.  I am going to be studying more about all of this, during my day today.  Here is the link to what I found and will be meditating on.

http://www.biblegems.com/GENESIS30V22.HTM

Here are some verses to meditate on too…

Remember your mercy, O Lord, and your steadfast love,
    for they have been from of old. Psalm 25:6

47f9a7371ece30a0073b7cab9a24b15c

O Lord, you know;
    remember me and visit me,
    and take vengeance for me on my persecutors.
In your forbearance take me not away;
    know that for your sake I bear reproach. Jeremiah 15:15

for he who is mighty has done great things for me,
    and holy is his name. Luke 1:49

autumn forest with sun beam

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

