Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 5, 2014

Focus ~ On Our Adornments ~ Tuesday Reflection on Rebekah

428f2ae7e6a8d63ea2fb7f2e98ecd874

Tuesday’s reading in The Women of the Bible Study about Rebekah began with the verses about the jewelry that the servant sent by Abraham gifted to Rebekah.

“Then I asked, ‘Whose daughter are you?’ She replied, ‘I am the daughter of Bethuel, and my grandparents are Nahor and Milcah.’ So I put the ring on her nose, and the bracelets on her wrists.” Genesis 24:47

“Then he brought out silver and gold jewelry and clothing and presented them to Rebekah. He also gave expensive presents to her brother and mother.” Genesis 24:53

As I read I discovered that nose rings were an acceptable adornment to be worn in ancient times…it was not a sign of rebellion that many people consider it these days.  And men…men in ancient times wore earrings in their ears and adorned themselves in other jewelry too.

God mentions a nose ring in Ezekiel 16:11-13.  He is talking about His love for Jerusalem in these verses…

I gave you lovely jewelry, bracelets, beautiful necklaces, 12 a ring for your nose, earrings for your ears, and a lovely crown for your head. 13 And so you were adorned with gold and silver. Your clothes were made of fine linen and were beautifully embroidered. You ate the finest foods—choice flour, honey, and olive oil—and became more beautiful than ever. You looked like a queen, and so you were!

Apparently, in Old Testament times a nose ring was the way to go!!!

I will admit that I do love jewelry; meaningful jewelry!  Here is the list of jewelry that I wear everyday and the reason that I put these pieces on each day. I love the necklace that my daughter’s family gave me for Christmas a couple of years ago.  It is a delicate silver cross with a diamond at the end of each point.  I have added to this necklace the birthstones of my husband, my children, my son-in-law, my four grandchildren and me…I never take it off.  I love my wedding set…it is a symbol of the love and life I have had with my husband.

I wear a cloisonné heart bracelet that is strung together and tied with a plastic string, because my granddaughter saw it at a garage sale and thought of me.  She paid all of $2 for it…but I wear it because it represents her sacrificial love for me, she spent her allowance on me!

I wear the watch that my husband gave me two years ago, it reminds me of the times we have spent together and it for the more practical reason that I like to know what time it is.

The last piece of jewelry that I put on each day came from a friend on my 50th birthday.  When I say friend, we live in the same subdivision and my Sara and her Ian are the same age.  We have known each other since they started kindergarten together.  We have spent time together over the years, off and on…and occasionally had meaningful conversations.  She was invited to the party that my family gave me and brought me a beautiful multi-stone bracelet with tiny diamond accents.  I wear it as a reminder of a conversation that she and I had at one time when she gave me her perspective of my family.  She loved my family and the perception she had of how we lived.  Was it reality…no, not totally, but our talk showed me how other people look at us and we can become an example to them of what a family should look like.  I wear this bracelet as a reminder that people are always watching what we do and I want them to see me as a light that points others to Jesus.

Just as I discussed on Monday, though, like our children…jewelry should not become what we worship either.

3 Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive jewelry, or beautiful clothes. 4 You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God. 1 Peter 3:3-4

1 Peter 33-4

The best piece of jewelry that I put on each day is when I remember to wear God as I walk in this world and let His light shine, which I believe to be brighter than any diamond! May I be as thoughtful in putting on Him as I am with my less important adornments. Amen? Amen!

 

Responses

  1. Very well said, my friend!! I was reminded of a woman in the church where I grew up – very Godly woman – who was loved by everybody. But she had this story to tell… She LOVED jewelry! And she had quite a bit of it, too. Now, she never did use grocery money or anything but she would put back a little here and there until she had enough to buy the new piece that she had been looking at. One day, God told her to sell all her jewelry. She asked why He was asking her to do that. He told her that she thought more of her jewelry than she did of Him, that it was coming between them. When she thought about it, she realized He was right. So… she sold all her jewelry. She was never bitter or angry about it – and she admired pretty jewelry on others, but she never bought another piece for herself.

    I have made a couple cross bracelets for myself, and usually have one on when I go out. They remind me of whom I represent and that my actions are a reflection on HIM so I want the actions to be good ones…

    Anyway – I enjoyed this, Patti!

  2. Thanks, Wilma…it’s all God!

  3. I’ll Amen that, too!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

