Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 24, 2014

Focus ~ On Lot’s Wife

Focus on Lots Wife_Monday Reflection

Monday Reflection ~

The women of the bible that we have studied in this book, up to this point, have all had names.  The bible does not refer to Lot’s wife by name, she is only referenced as Lot’s wife.  I did a little bit of research and have determined that Jewish midrash gave her the name Edith or Ildeth, but I have not been able to come up with a Hebrew meaning for either of those names.  Symbolically, she has a story to share with us about disobedience to God’s directives and I just find it curious that she is never mentioned by name in the bible. I am going to look into this further and will report any findings with you as we focus on Lot’s wife this week.

Key Scriptures ~ Genesis 18:16 ~ 19:29; Luke 17:28-33

17 And as they brought them out, one said, “Escape for your life. Do not look back or stop anywhere in the valley. Escape to the hills, lest you be swept away.” Genesis 19:17

DO NOT LOOK BACK….there have been many times in my life that I have looked back.  I have looked back in longing for what I have lost; I have looked back in regret because of choices that I have made; and I have looked back with joy at memories from my past.

These are musings in mind…Lot’s wife literally looked back to see…what????  Was she checking to make sure her daughters were behind her, was she looking back at all that she left behind in her home at Sodom and Gomorrah, was she curious to see if God really was going to destroy this city????

We don’t know her reasons, but we do know her punishment…she became a pillar of salt.  She brought God’s judgement down on her head, when all He wanted to do was show her and her family mercy.

God wants to show us all mercy, but like Lot’s wife He leaves the choice up to us.  Are we looking back in longing at something that God has asked us to give up????  Lot’s wife knew the rules, she understood that she should not turn around and look at what she was leaving behind…she did it anyway!!!  She did it anyway; lost the protection of the Lord and she was destroyed by her sin.

I just got to ask, is there anything on this earth, worth losing God’s protection and meeting the fires of hell over????  What has God asked you to give up? Did you give it up or does it still have a greater hold on your life than God?

28 Likewise, just as it was in the days of Lot—they were eating and drinking, buying and selling, planting and building, 29 but on the day when Lot went out from Sodom, fire and sulfur rained from heaven and destroyed them all— 30 so will it be on the day when the Son of Man is revealed. 31 On that day, let the one who is on the housetop, with his goods in the house, not come down to take them away, and likewise let the one who is in the field not turn back. 32 Remember Lot’s wife. 33 Whoever seeks to preserve his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life will keep it. Luke 17:28-33

There is nothing on this earth worth losing your life over!!!!  Jesus died, so that we might live…we need to die to self and live our lives for Him!

Tuesday Reflection

“You are the salt of the earth, but if salt has lost its taste, how shall its saltiness be restored? It is no longer good for anything except to be thrown out and trampled under people’s feet.” Matthew 5:13

Tuesday’s reading discusses the salt that Lot’s wife was turned into when she looked behind her.  In Monday’s reflection I shared some reasons why I thought she looked back, with you…another possible reason came to me when I was thinking about this today.

Did she believe, maybe, that the warning did not apply to her?  Did she believe that her sins just weren’t as bad as the ones being committed by the people in Sodom and Gomorrah, and therefore God’s judgement would not fall upon her??  It says in the bible that all have sinned and have fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23), it does not say some of the people or a third of the people…no, it says ALL have sinned.  My sins, your sins….all sins keep us short of His glory, no matter what the sin might be.  Sin is sin, my friend and it can turn us all into a pillar of salt.

I have found more information regarding Lot’s wife and I wanted to share the links with you, I think it gives us more insight as we focus on her this week.

http://jwa.org/encyclopedia/article/lots-wife-midrash-and-aggadah

http://www.amazingfacts.org/media-library/book/e/43/t/remember-lots-wife.aspx

http://www.jewishanswers.org/ask-the-rabbi-category/jewish-history/?p=1590

Wednesday Reflection

Read Genesis 19:1 – 26.

1. In ancient culture, when Lot opened his house to guests, he guaranteed not only their comfort but their safety. The family’s honor was at stake. What do you think were his wife’s thoughts and feelings when he offered his daughters instead of his guests to the raiders?

I cringe each and every time I read the verses in the bible where Lot suggests that the raiders take his daughters instead of his guests.  I know what my thoughts would have been in that moment and I assure you they would not have just been thoughts; I would have verbally expressed myself in no uncertain terms.  There would have been a discussion of this idea of giving my children up as a sacrifice to keep our guests safe.  As I write this, I remember that these were angels sent from God and faith would be what I would need to stand upon in keeping my mouth closed and trusting that God would keep my daughters safe.  It would not be easy.

2. Given what Sodom was like, why would Lot’s wife hesitate leaving there?

That’s a really good question and the only thing that I can come up with is that instead of her actions changing the behaviors of the people in Sodom, the behaviors of the people in Sodom changed her.

3. Even though warned not to do so, she couldn’t resist looking back. Why do you think she turned?

In my Monday and Tuesday reflections I think I answered this question…check out my thoughts above.

4. In Lot’s wife, we can see ourselves looking back, regretting decisions made, mourning lost opportunities, yearning for ended relationships. Do you spend a lot of time looking back? If so, how does that affect the way you live in the present?

I used to spend way too much time looking back and looking forward, neither example should take up our life.  Living in the past or in the future causes us to miss what is happening in the present.  I have been learning to forget what is behind me and to focus on what God has planned for me today.

5. What does leaving the past behind mean for you right now?

Looking to the past should only be a glance to remember a special time in my life or as a reminder for a lesson learned; I should not pitch a tent and set up camp in my past.  

Responses

  1. Actually, I got a revelation today, maybe just specific to me, that Lot’s wife looking back was her desire to enjoy the destruction of people who had made her life miserable–people who had no faith in God or in all the wrong gods. Seriously, Sodom could not have been a pleasant place to live for someone who knew what it was like to not only be around someone as righteous as Abraham, but to also owe her life to the kind of faith Abraham had in God (Abraham saved her and her family from slavery to a marauding “King” remember and against the numeric odds!). No, she goosenecked, He’s telling me and justified the destruction in her own condemning words and I have committed this sin numerous numerous (shall I repeat numerous) times, even after being born again. That anger and bitterness and feeling “the victim” and wishing destruction on my victimizers (remember, Lot was about to let his daughters, her daughters, be RAPED–how can a mother want that–by the time she left, she was probably hating those people) comes over me often, and I have to submit those thoughts to Jesus or act on them, and I confess that I have acted on them a few times: letters blaming people for MY bad choices (like my ex-husband), or angrily accusing people of “religion” when I’m the one who chose to go to their church or study, etc. etc. The baby I keep throwing out with the bathwater is obedience to the angel in FRONT of us, leading us, who is Christ. Ugh! I pray for us all to see Lot’s wife in our own actions and thus realize just how merciful God is that we are already not statues of salt, flavorless and incapable of following Christ anymore. If we are breathing still, that is the silver lining of God’s mercy! Victimhood is never good, He says! Do not glory in personal revenge. : )

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me. I love getting fresh insight on what others get from their studies of the Bible. I also want to thank you for commenting on this post, it gave me an opportunity to re-read this post!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

