Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 10, 2014

Focus ~ On Sarah

We are in our second week of Women of the Bible and for the next five days we will be focusing on Sarah. Here are the Key Scriptures: Genesis 12:1 – 20; 16:1 – 8; 17:1 – 22; 18:1 – 15;21:1 – 13; Galatians 4:22 – 31…read these first and then click on the link below to read Monday’s reading.

Monday’s Reflection

22 “The Scriptures say that Abraham had two sons, one from his slave wife and one from his freeborn wife. 23 The son of the slave wife was born in a human attempt to bring about the fulfillment of God’s promise. But the son of the freeborn wife was born as God’s own fulfillment of his promise.” Galatians 4:22-23

Sarah knew that the fulfillment of God’s promise was to come from Abraham and as each year passed with no child delivered from her body she began to believe the lies in her head.

“I bet Abram wishes he had never married me.”

“I am letting Abram down.”

“I am letting God down.”

“I am never going to have a baby, why did God say that I would.”

You know that the devil had to have been working overtime on Sarah to prevent God’s promise to Abraham,

“12 Now the Lord said to Abram, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you. 2 And I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing.” Genesis 12:1-2.  

When the voices got to be too much for her, she took matters into her own hands and convinced Abraham to sleep with her slave.  I believe that Sarah was taking advice from the ungodly when she made this decision…she was listening to her flesh instead of to the spirit of God.  My pastor’s sermon this past weekend brought some words in the Bible into greater focus for me and I believe it leads directly to the message for me in today’s reading.  My pastor pointed us to Psalms 1:1…

“Oh, the joys of those who do not
    follow the advice of the wicked,
    or stand around with sinners,
    or join in with mockers.”

and he said that sometimes we follow wicked or ungodly advice when we allow our desires control our actions.  We should not take counsel from our own flesh.

Sarah was allowing her feelings to control her thoughts…not allowing her thoughts to control her feelings.  Sarah wanted to feel good and I believe that Sarah believed she would feel good about Abraham receiving one of his desires…having a child since it was her idea.  Only it didn’t give her a lasting pleasure…it was momentary and fleeting…because she did not wait on God’s timing, she choose her own.

Sarah is much like us and the world we are living in; only I believe we are so much worse!  We are all about living in the flesh and doing what gives us pleasure.  We ARE the me generation and we are told by both secular and Christian teachers that we have to love self first, before we can love others.

I do not believe that is the order of things…no God and there is no love for yourself or for others…Know God and that is where you will find love for yourself and for others.

One more thought to bring this reflection to its’ conclusion…

No God = living in the flesh and doing whatever makes us happy.

Know God = living in the spirit and doing what makes God happy.

WOBS Week 2 Focus on Sarah

Tuesday Reflection

Back in 2009 I started reading Christian books, both fiction and non-fiction, and one author and series really caught my attention…Neta Jackson and The Yada Yada Prayer Group.  The lead character in this series of books is named Jodi and one of the sweetest things she did, in this series, was to research the meaning of each ladies name, in the prayer group, and then present it to them with a card and verse (related to the meaning) on their birthdays.

This inspired me to do the same thing with the people in my family and I even did it for the ladies in my on-line prayer groups.  I have found over the last several years that the meaning in names really does seem to fit the personality.

Would you like to research the meaning behind your name?  Click on the link below to see the meaning of your name, and then go to biblegateway.com and find some bible verses that speak to the meaning. (You may want to use some synonyms for your name meaning too, while looking for verses).  I would love for you to share what you find out with all of us, either here or on the Many Strands page.

http://www.prokerala.com/kids/baby-names/christian/

Here is the meaning behind Patricia ~ noble

Synonyms for noble ~ honorable, self-sacrificing, virtuous, gracious, righteous

Noble ~ “Hear, for I will speak noble things, and from my lips will come what is right,” Proverbs 8:6

Honorable ~ Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Philippians 4:8

Self-Sacrificing ~ “For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake, he is the one who will save it.” Luke 9:24

Virtuous ~ see Proverbs 31:10-31 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Proverbs+31%3A10-31&version=KJV

Gracious ~ Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body. Proverbs 16:24

Righteous ~ “Rejoice in the Lord, O you righteous, and give thanks to his holy name!” Psalm 97:12

Wednesday Reflection

 

Read Genesis 12:10 – 20.
1. Imagine yourself as Sarah in Egypt. What are you feeling at each point in this situation toward Abraham? Toward God? About yourself as a woman?
I can’t imagine that she was happy with this situation.  I think that she would have justified going along with Abraham’s suggestion by hanging onto the fact that he said he would be killed if they thought she was his wife.  Her feelings toward God could have been…WHY?   If I were Sarah I would not feel very good about myself as a woman.  I would be devastated that I was giving myself to someone other than my husband…not really sure that I could do it.
Read Genesis 16:1 – 6.
2. What impression do you get of Sarah in this episode? What does she want? What does she fear? How does she relate to people?
At the start of this part of the story I believe she was hopeful and looking for a way to help God fulfill His promise to Abraham.  She wants a child and she fears that she will not have one, and she might even feel like Abraham should not have married her.  Sarah pushed her husband to conceive a child with another woman and then became angry when her plan worked.  I believe that all the years waiting to have a child had made her bitter and when Hagar conceived…Sarah lashed out at Hagar for giving Abraham what she had not; a child.  And she was angry with Abraham because he gave another woman what she wanted; a child.
Read Genesis 18:10 – 15; 21:1 – 7.
3. What do these scenes tell you about Sarah?
4. God worked through Sarah’s life in spite of her failings. How can God use you in spite of your imperfections?
Hhas given me testimonies to share with others.  Testimonies that show them that despite my tests…I am still standing and it is to His honor and glory that I can say that.
5. Is your current situation more like Sarah’s before or after God fulfilled his promises to her? Explain.
My current situation is a state of waiting, waiting on a doctor’s report on my dad.  I believe that even though we don’t have an answer yet or even know how this will all play out over the next few months…I know that God is with all of us and He will get us through, no matter what the results of the test prove to be.  God is building me up and strengthening me for the road ahead.
Thursday Reflection
My life verses speak directly to today’s reading in our study…
isaiah_40_31_by_tsumench-d36qo0d

Isaiah 40:28-31  (ESV)

28 Have you not known? Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He does not faint or grow weary;
    his understanding is unsearchable.
29 He gives power to the faint,
    and to him who has no might he increases strength.
30 Even youths shall faint and be weary,
    and young men shall fall exhausted;
31 but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;
    they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
    they shall walk and not faint.

When I am having a difficult time in my life or I am wanting God to work faster on resolving an issue for me, these verses remind me that God is renewing my strength while I wait on Him.  These verses remind me that God is strengthening my faith in Him so that I can rise above my problems and wait on Him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

