Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 29, 2014

Focus ~ On What I am Pursuing

52e440a5829ffda91467e9a641795cc6

“Desire without knowledge is not good,
    and whoever makes haste with his feet misses his way.” Proverbs 19:2

“The purpose in a man’s heart is like deep water,
    but a man of understanding will draw it out.” Proverbs 20:5

“Every way of a man is right in his own eyes,
    but the Lord weighs the heart.” Proverbs 21:2

17 “Incline your ear, and hear the words of the wise,
    and apply your heart to my knowledge,
18 for it will be pleasant if you keep them within you,
    if all of them are ready on your lips.
19 That your trust may be in the Lord,
    I have made them known to you today, even to you.
20 Have I not written for you thirty sayings
 of counsel and knowledge,
21 to make you know what is right and true,
    that you may give a true answer to those who sent you?” Proverbs 22:17-21

“Apply your heart to instruction
    and your ear to words of knowledge.” Proverbs 23:12

10 “If you faint in the day of adversity,
    your strength is small.
11 Rescue those who are being taken away to death;
    hold back those who are stumbling to the slaughter.
12 If you say, “Behold, we did not know this,”
    does not he who weighs the heart perceive it?
Does not he who keeps watch over your soul know it,
 and will he not repay man according to his work?” Proverbs 24:10-12

11 “A word fitly spoken
    is like apples of gold in a setting of silver.
12 Like a gold ring or an ornament of gold
    is a wise reprover to a listening ear.
13 Like the cold of snow in the time of harvest
    is a faithful messenger to those who send him;
    he refreshes the soul of his masters.” Proverbs 25:11-13

“Like a lame man’s legs, which hang useless,
    is a proverb in the mouth of fools.” Proverbs 26:7

“Iron sharpens iron,
    and one man sharpens another.” Proverbs 27:17

“Evil men do not understand justice,
    but those who seek the Lord understand it completely.” Proverbs 28:5

9 “If one turns away his ear from hearing the law,
    even his prayer is an abomination.
10 Whoever misleads the upright into an evil way
    will fall into his own pit,
    but the blameless will have a goodly inheritance.” Proverbs 28:9-10

“He who is often reproved, yet stiffens his neck,
    will suddenly be broken beyond healing.” Proverbs 29:1

Each of the verses above have spoken to me through my readings in Proverbs over the last 10 days.  Yes, it has been just about 10 days since I posted anything to this page.  This morning I woke up and read Proverbs 29, my Proverbs for today, and then I went back to read 19 ~ 29 one more time.

I am doing this to really understand why I need to focus on what I am pursuing.  In the summer of 2009, after many years of allowing myself to be led astray, I came back to the Lord.  I became hungry to know more about God and His word.

(Even though I was raised up in the church, the Baptist church, I only had a rudimentary understanding of the Bible.  I memorized the books of the Bible, I memorized the verses that were shared in Sunday School each week, I went to Vacation Bible School every summer and memorized more verses, I was a GA (Girls in Action) and memorized the verses that would award me the honor of Princess…through all this I was memorizing, but, I was truly not digesting them.)

When God brought me back to Him, He lit a fire inside of me to really get to know Him.  I stumbled around for a while looking for someone or something to share His truth with me.  I looked to my Pastor, I looked to books and their authors, I started reading Christian blog posts on-line…I searched and searched and searched for someone or something to connect me with what I was pursuing…knowledge, wisdom and discernment.  The only problem was, I did not know that these were the things I needed in my life to grow as a Christian.

I was pursuing a feeling.  I wanted to feel good.  So instead of sitting down and reading the Bible…I was reading or listening to other people’s interpretation of Bible verses, and accepting them as truth of God’s word.  Sometimes it was truth and other times it wasn’t.  But I didn’t know who or what was His truth because I was not reading the Bible in context…I was cherry picking right along with who I was allowing to teach me.

I needed to have my focus changed.

God changed my focus, by showing me that I was spiritually immature.  I could be easily misled by what I was reading and who I was listening to, because I had not sat down with Him and really read His word.

God has removed my desire to read any book, but the Bible, for right now.  I need to focus on the Bible and let God’s word soak into my heart and my mind, before I pick up another Christian “self-help” book.  It is only through understanding what God says that I can be discerning about what other’s say He is saying.

Over the past 2 years I have been in pursuit of God’s truth and His perspective, but my focus has been in the wrong areas.  I, personally, need to be focusing on the Bible to gain truth and perspective.

I am looking forward to what I am going to read in Proverbs 30 and 31 over the next two days, as I finish up my personal challenge through Proverbs.  I will share more about my next challenge for 2014 and where my focus is going to be every Monday for the next 52 weeks, tomorrow.  Here is a little teaser for you, click on the link for a preview.

http://contentz.mkt4731.com/mson/2014/01/27/DppFBl55Tisf/index.html

Responses

  1. You go girl!! I think it is wonderful when you know WHO, as well as what, you should focus on. You inspire me to be a better follower of Christ, Patti. Sometimes I read your blog and think that you are writing things so far above my head… and God reminds me that what you are saying isn’t the least bit difficult to understand when it is a message I need to hear. As with anybody’s blog, if that message isn’t for you to learn from, then you aren’t even going to be able to ‘focus’ on it while you are trying to read. Or at least that is the way it is for me. Love you, girlfriend. You keep writing, I’ll keep reading!! TTYL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

