Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 13, 2014

Focus ~ It’s Everywhere!

3950fdb02153d7350f8b436f4b34af68

From the NIV Devotions for Women Bible…

7 That night God appeared to Solomon and said to him, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you.”

8 Solomon answered God, “You have shown great kindness to David my father and have made me king in his place. 9 Now, Lord God, let your promise to my father David be confirmed, for you have made me king over a people who are as numerous as the dust of the earth. 10 Give me wisdom and knowledge, that I may lead this people, for who is able to govern this great people of yours?”

11 God said to Solomon, “Since this is your heart’s desire and you have not asked for wealth,possessions or honor, nor for the death of your enemies, and since you have not asked for a long life but for wisdom and knowledge to govern my people over whom I have made you king, 12 therefore wisdom and knowledge will be given you. And I will also give you wealth, possessions and honor, such as no king who was before you ever had and none after you will have.” 2 Chronicles 1:7-12 

“Rub the magic bottle, and the genie’s willing to grant your one wish. Do you ask for fame and fortune? Beauty and health? If you’re a new mom, maybe you’d simply be happy to get a full night’s sleep, finish a meal and take a shower—all in the same day. When God made this wild offer to Solomon, the king could have asked for all kinds of favors for himself. But he didn’t. He knew that life isn’t about looking out for yourself; it’s about loving God and serving others. If you focus on those two things, then you can trust that God will give you what you need.”

Reflections…

Solomon was a wise man, as a matter of fact Solomon has been sharing all the wisdom he received from God, with us, in the book of Proverbs.  I am grateful for the words that Solomon shared in Proverbs…I am reading through them this month…one chapter a day…and they are helping me to focus on doing what God has for me each day.

I am a firm believer in God’s confirmation in my life.  As many of you know, the word focus was not even on my radar as my one-word from God for 2014.  I was believing for other words to walk with in 2014…”hope” and “authority”, but, GOD!!!!  It was made pretty clear to me on the 84th day of reading through the New Testament that I was meant to really FOCUS in 2014!  I took my one-word resolution for 2014 on my faith in God and He has been confirming it to me, in various ways.  (Bonus: this devotion was about Solomon, so added confirmation for reading through Proverbs this month).

Everyday since, something has reminded me of that word and why it is so important in my life for this new year.  I decided to share today’s reminder from the emailed devotion I received, above.

I would love to hear how God is moving in your life through the one-word resolution that He helped you pick for 2014.  I know that we can help each other stay on course when we share our one-word testimonies.  Looking forward to hearing from you…

 

Responses

  1. Patti, I just changed the little blurb on my blog to this, “My verse for 2014 is Colossians 2:6-7; “So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.” My word for this year is ‘strengthen’ – I want to be strengthened by God, through God and with God during this year. Spending lots of time in my Bible is just the thing I need!”

    I have been amazed at the number of things that I have seen with the word “strengthen” in them. I wish, now, that I had made notation of all of them since there were days that there were 2-3 of them in a matter of hours. It’s amazing how HE reinforces things that he wants us to learn. Repetitive learning… only way to go!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

