Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 6, 2014

Focus ~ On What Will Keep me from Sin!

5592_pd287448full

Okay, show of hands…how many of you found it difficult to read through Proverbs 6 because of the conviction, found in there, from present sin???? I am not perfect, but I am called to be like Jesus and He was perfect. I think too many times I have allowed others to give me a pass through the use of God’s grace and His mercy on sinner’s.

God has not called me to be a sinner!

In my past I have been much too focused on His forgiveness for my sins and NOT ENOUGH focused on what will keep me from sin.

I feel that we are using Lamentations 3:22-23 as our get out of hell free card, while we continue in sin. I believe that God’s mercy is that we are not immediately punished…struck dead…by the sins we commit.

If I really am new in Christ…
If I have really been transformed…
If I am really trying to live my life more like Jesus…

Am I going to continue living in the sin from my old life???

I am not perfect, but I am supposed to be living my life to near as perfect as I allow God to get me.

When I sin…is when I have blocked God from getting in!

When I sin…is when I am making it all about me and not about HE!!!!

I am going to start focusing more on God and on His strength to keep me from sin. For this to work I need to spend time with Him every day and follow the instructions found near the end of today’s reading in Proverbs 6.

20 My son, keep your father’s command
and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.
21 Bind them always on your heart;
fasten them around your neck.
22 When you walk, they will guide you;
when you sleep, they will watch over you;
when you awake, they will speak to you.
23 For this command is a lamp,
this teaching is a light,
and correction and instruction
are the way to life… Proverbs 6:20-23

Responses

  1. Patti, I also focused on those same 4 verses: 20-23…

    I read Proverb 6 three times yesterday. I had some thoughts written down but accidently deleted them. So I read it again tody, hoping to recapture those run-away thoughts… didn’t work very good, but…

    Even though the last half of the chapter is talking about not committing adultry, vs. 20-23 are appicable to life today in that the words could be coming to us from God himself, and not just to Solomon regarding his sons.

    One of my goals – for always – is to keep God’s Word close to my heart. I want to be so deep in Him and His word that if anybody wants to become to really know me, they have to go through the Father to get to me. I want the Word to alwasy guide me, watch over me, and speak to me. God and His word have literally been a lamp for me during some very dark days of my life.

    I had no earthly father when I was growing up, so when I speak of my Abba Daddy, it is with great respect and much love. I came back to God in July of 2009 so, spiritually, I am almost 5 years old!! (I am thinking about having a birthday party for myself! Seriously!!) I could never think of God as my Abba Daddy before, but it puts a smile on my face now.

    So… those are my thoughts. I love my Heavenly Father. I want to live for Him, know His word, walk with Him, I want Him watching over me when I sleep, and I want to wake when He speaks to me. I want HIS lamp to guide my way – especially on the darkest of times because He IS the Way the Truth and the Light.

    Thank you, Patti for this challenge through Proverbs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

