Posted by: heisourstrongtower | December 29, 2013

Many Strands Challenge ~ Seeking God’s Wisdom for 2014 ~ Concluding Assignment

Seeking God's Wisdom - Final Assignment

Philippians 3:13 ~ No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, (NLT)

My one-word resolution for 2014 is “focus”.  

Your last assignment for this challenge is to take the one-word God has given you for 2014 and define it, look up synonyms for the word, AND most importantly look up Bible verses that will help you walk in this word  and His word in 2014.

Let me just demonstrate how much this last assignment will help you in 2014.  Take a look at the definitions for my word…

Focus is defined, on google, as;

1. the center of interest or activity. (Yes and Amen!)

2. the state or quality of having or producing clear visual definition. (Couldn’t we all use some clear visual definition of His word?)

3. (of a person or their eyes) adapt to the prevailing level of light and become able to see clearly. (In this dark world we live in…I need His light to help me to see clearly)

4. pay particular attention to. (My attention needs to be focused on Him.)

I went to Biblegateway.com and typed the word focus, into the search area for the Bible, and found these scriptures.

Philippians 3:13 ~No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, (NLT) 

1 Timothy 4:13 ~ Until I get there, focus on reading the Scriptures to the church, encouraging the believers, and teaching them. (NLT) 

Joshua 24:23 ~“So now put aside the foreign gods that are among you. Focus your hearts on the Lord, the God of Israel.” (CEB) 

Psalm 86:11 ~Teach me your way, Lord, so that I can walk in your truth. Make my heart focused only on honoring your name. (CEB) 

Proverbs 4:25 ~ Focus your eyes straight ahead; keep your gaze on what is in front of you. 

Proverbs 22:17 ~ [ Thirty sayings of the wise ] Turn your ear and hear the words of the wise; focus your mind on my knowledge.

I am going to write these verses out on index cards to put with my daily devotional box and I am going to be memorizing them during the month of January.  They will be my go-to’s when my to-do’s get the best of me in 2014!!!!

Whether or not you have followed along with this New Testament reading challenge or not, God may have given you a one-word resolution for 2014.  This assignment will work for you too.  

Maybe you want to have your own personal 85 – Day New Testament Reading Challenge beginning on January 1 – you have all you need to get started right here on this blog.  You will find each day’s assignment posted under Seeking God’s Wisdom for 2014.  I encourage you to do this with someone who will keep you accountable with the daily readings.  Let me know if you are going to start this, I would love to pray for you and stand in agreement with you to finish the challenge.

For my faithful friends who began this journey with me on October 1st, I love and appreciate you all so very much.  You made me accountable for my talk and that is going to go so far in helping me in my walk in 2014!!!  Thank you, thank you, thank you for doing life with me!  I would love for you to share your one-word resolutions with me and the results you have with today’s assignment.  

I promise to update you on my one-word journey with the word focus and what God is teaching me as I walk with this word.  I will share with you soon and just in case this is my last post for 2013…Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

