Posted by: heisourstrongtower | December 25, 2013

Many Strands Challenge ~ Seeking God’s Wisdom for 2014 ~ Day 84

Seeking God's Wisdom - Day 84

Today’s Assignment ~ Make sure that you have your prayer journal with you as you complete each day’s reading.  You are going to want to keep track of the verses that are resonating with you, as you read.

1. If you have not already done so, answer the questions in this blog-post;

https://heisourstrongtower.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/many-strands-challenge-seeking-gods-wisdom-for-2014/

If you have answered them…review your answers prior to reading today’s assignment.

2. Say a prayer asking God to reveal Himself to you through His word.

3. Read Revelation 19-20 and as you read, highlight verses that are speaking to your heart and reflect on these questions…

• What is the main point of this portion?

• What does God – Father, Son or Holy Spirit – reveal of himself?

• What insight am I given about myself and into my life situation? Is there an example of a warning to heed? A promise to claim?

• What does Christ require of me now, in thought, word or action?

A reflection on today’s reading…

3 “The angel threw him into the bottomless pit, which he then shut and locked so Satan could not deceive the nations anymore until the thousand years were finished. Afterward he must be released for a little while.” 

DO NOT BE DECEIVED!!!  If we are not studying the Bible, diligently, it is much easier for satan to blind our eyes to the truth!!  There are so many distractions on this earth that the devil uses to keep our minds occupied on anything other than God.

This challenge through the New Testament has been good for me, but I know that I need to go even deeper into His word.  Each time I have read through the New Testament…I have been given a fresh and new perspective.  Those of you who have persevered with me, through these past 90 days, know that there was another challenge within this challenge…we were also to seek His one-word resolution for 2014.

I have been hovering over a couple of words and I have not been sure which one God intended for me to focus on in 2014…I believe that this morning I had an epiphany.  My one-word resolution is not “authority” or “hope”…the two words I have been concentrating on over the last 90 days…my one-word resolution is “focus”!!!!

What “hope” do I have in keeping God in THE position of “authority” over my life if I am not “focused” on Him?  What hope do I have in 2014 if my “focus” is not on Him and His word?

I have in the past allowed myself to put other people in that place of authority over God, because I was focusing on the words that they were writing, sharing and, yes, even speaking.  I allowed myself to be distracted by these words and, at times, these words deceived me, because I was not, first, focused on His WORD!!!

I used to be a ferocious reader of many books.  Over the past 90 days I have been a ferocious reader of just one book, the Bible.  It is changing me and that is a good thing.  This does not mean that I, or that you, should only read the Bible, but it should be what we use to determine if other books are in align with God’s word.

As I move forward into 2014, and as Many Strands moves forward in 2014, there are many things that I have to fix…so that my walk matches my talk in a godly manner.  January is going to be a month of preparation for what comes next for me and the Many Strands page.

There is some clean-up to do on this blog…many posts are still on here that were directly related to the Jesus Calling book.  A book that I allowed to distract and deceive me…because I was attracted to how her words made me feel good rather than being focused on whether or not they were godly.

I will be sharing more with you all over the next several days about what else I am going to be working on to insure that I am focused on what God has in-store for my life in 2014.

I pray that you all are having a wonderful Christmas day with family and friends.  I am so thankful for all of you!!!  Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

