Posted by: heisourstrongtower | November 23, 2013

Many Strands Challenge ~ Seeking God’s Wisdom ~ Day 54

Seeking God's Wisdom - Day 54

Today’s Assignment ~ Make sure that you have your prayer journal with you as you complete each day’s reading.  You are going to want to keep track of the verses that are resonating with you, as you read.

1. If you have not already done so, answer the questions in this blog-post;

https://heisourstrongtower.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/many-strands-challenge-seeking-gods-wisdom-for-2014/

If you have answered them…review your answers prior to reading today’s assignment.

2. Say a prayer asking God to reveal Himself to you through His word.

3. Read Luke 17- 21 and as you read, highlight verses that are speaking to your heart and reflect on these questions…

What is the main point of this portion? 

What does God – Father, Son or Holy Spirit – reveal of himself? 

What insight am I given about myself and into my life situation? Is there an example of a warning to heed? A promise to claim? 

What does Christ require of me now, in thought, word or action?

A reflection on today’s reading…

As I read through today’s assignment in my Bible…The Names of Jesus began floating through my head.  I decided to see how many references Jesus, Himself, made to His names through His teaching.  Now these names may not have come out of His mouth in these verses, but the meaning is still very clear to me…and I bet to you too!

From Luke 17…

Jesus as our Lord ~ 5 The apostles said to the Lord, “Show us how to increase our faith.”

Jesus as our Master ~ 7 “When a servant comes in from plowing or taking care of sheep, does his master say, ‘Come in and eat with me’? 8 No, he says, ‘Prepare my meal, put on your apron, and serve me while I eat. Then you can eat later.’ 9 And does the master thank the servant for doing what he was told to do? Of course not. 10 In the same way, when you obey me you should say, ‘We are unworthy servants who have simply done our duty.’”

Jesus as our Healer ~ 15 One of them, when he saw that he was healed, came back to Jesus, shouting, “Praise God!” 16 He fell to the ground at Jesus’ feet, thanking him for what he had done. This man was a Samaritan.

17 Jesus asked, “Didn’t I heal ten men? Where are the other nine? 18 Has no one returned to give glory to God except this foreigner?” 19 And Jesus said to the man, “Stand up and go. Your faith has healed you.[c]”

Jesus as our King ~ 20 One day the Pharisees asked Jesus, “When will the Kingdom of God come?”

Jesus replied, “The Kingdom of God can’t be detected by visible signs.[d] 21 You won’t be able to say, ‘Here it is!’ or ‘It’s over there!’ For the Kingdom of God is already among you.[e]”

Jesus as the Son of Man 24 “For as the lightning flashes and lights up the sky from one end to the other, so it will be on the day when the Son of Man comes. 25 But first the Son of Man must suffer terribly[g] and be rejected by this generation.”

From Luke 18…

Jesus as our Judge ~ 6 “Then the Lord said, “Learn a lesson from this unjust judge. 7 Even he rendered a just decision in the end. So don’t you think God will surely give justice to his chosen people who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? 8 I tell you, he will grant justice to them quickly! But when the Son of Man[k] returns, how many will he find on the earth who have faith?”

Jesus as the Lord of our Righteousness ~ 9 Then Jesus told this story to some who had great confidence in their own righteousness and scorned everyone else: 10 “Two men went to the Temple to pray. One was a Pharisee, and the other was a despised tax collector. 11 The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed this prayer[l]: ‘I thank you, God, that I am not a sinner like everyone else. For I don’t cheat, I don’t sin, and I don’t commit adultery. I’m certainly not like that tax collector! 12 I fast twice a week, and I give you a tenth of my income.’

13 “But the tax collector stood at a distance and dared not even lift his eyes to heaven as he prayed. Instead, he beat his chest in sorrow, saying, ‘O God, be merciful to me, for I am a sinner.’ 14 I tell you, this sinner, not the Pharisee, returned home justified before God. For those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.”

Jesus as the Door ~ 16 “Then Jesus called for the children and said to the disciples, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like these children. 17 I tell you the truth, anyone who doesn’t receive the Kingdom of God like a child will never enter it.”

Jesus as our Teacher ~ 18 Once a religious leader asked Jesus this question: “Good Teacher, what should I do to inherit eternal life?”

Jesus as the Author of Eternal Salvation ~ 29 “Yes,” Jesus replied, “and I assure you that everyone who has given up house or wife or brothers or parents or children, for the sake of the Kingdom of God, 30 will be repaid many times over in this life, and will have eternal life in the world to come.” 

Jesus as our Redeemer ~ 31 “Taking the twelve disciples aside, Jesus said, “Listen, we’re going up to Jerusalem, where all the predictions of the prophets concerning the Son of Man will come true. 32 He will be handed over to the Romans,[o] and he will be mocked, treated shamefully, and spit upon. 33 They will flog him with a whip and kill him, but on the third day he will rise again.”

Jesus as the Son of David ~ 35 As Jesus approached Jericho, a blind beggar was sitting beside the road. 36 When he heard the noise of a crowd going past, he asked what was happening. 37 They told him that Jesus the Nazarene[p] was going by. 38 So he began shouting, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!”

From Luke 19…

Jesus as our Salvation ~ 9 Jesus responded, “Salvation has come to this home today, for this man has shown himself to be a true son of Abraham. 10 For the Son of Man[q] came to seek and save those who are lost.”

Jesus as the Just One ~ 26 “‘Yes,’ the king replied, ‘and to those who use well what they are given, even more will be given. But from those who do nothing, even what little they have will be taken away. 27 And as for these enemies of mine who didn’t want me to be their king—bring them in and execute them right here in front of me.’”

Jesus as Man of Sorrows ~ 41 “But as he came closer to Jerusalem and saw the city ahead, he began to weep.”

Jesus as Prince of Peace ~ 42 “How I wish today that you of all people would understand the way to peace. But now it is too late, and peace is hidden from your eyes.”

From Luke 20…

Jesus as the Cornerstone ~ 17 “Jesus looked at them and said, “Then what does this Scripture mean? ‘The stone that the builders rejected has now become the cornerstone.’[u]”

Jesus as the Truth ~ 20 Watching for their opportunity, the leaders sent spies pretending to be honest men. They tried to get Jesus to say something that could be reported to the Roman governor so he would arrest Jesus.21 “Teacher,” they said, “we know that you speak and teach what is right and are not influenced by what others think. You teach the way of God truthfully. 22 Now tell us—is it right for us to pay taxes to Caesar or not?”

Jesus as Law Giver – 37 “But now, as to whether the dead will be raised—even Moses proved this when he wrote about the burning bush. Long after Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob had died, he referred to the Lord[x] as ‘the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.’[y] 38 So he is the God of the living, not the dead, for they are all alive to him.”

Jesus as our Messiah ~ 41 Then Jesus presented them with a question. “Why is it,” he asked, “that the Messiah is said to be the son of David? 42 For David himself wrote in the book of Psalms:

‘The Lord said to my Lord,
    Sit in the place of honor at my right hand
43 until I humble your enemies,
    making them a footstool under your feet.’[z]

Luke 21 reinforces some of these same names, at least it does for me.  I think you could even make an argument that Jesus spoke of himself as The True Vine, Son of God, The Word, Word of God and Prophet in these verses.  I know that I have missed some…as you read see what names are revealed to you.

You might even do what I am going to do during the remainder of my quiet time…let’s pray to and praise Jesus for WHO He is, here on this earth and in heaven.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCrpH5-unO4

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

