Posted by: heisourstrongtower | October 23, 2013

Many Strands Challenge ~ Seeking God’s Wisdom for 2014 ~ Day 24

Seeking God's Wisdom - Day 24

Today’s Assignment ~ Make sure that you have your prayer journal with you as you complete each day’s reading.  You are going to want to keep track of the verses that are resonating with you, as you read.

1. If you have not already done so, answer the questions in this blog-post;

https://heisourstrongtower.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/many-strands-challenge-seeking-gods-wisdom-for-2014

If you have answered them…review your answers prior to reading today’s assignment.

2. Say a prayer asking God to reveal Himself to you through His word.

3. Read 1 John 1 – 2 and as you read, highlight verses that are speaking to your heart and reflect on these questions…  

  • What is the main point of this portion? 
  • What does God – Father, Son or Holy Spirit – reveal of himself? 
  • What insight am I given into myself and into my life situation? Is there an example of a warning to heed? A promise to claim? 
  • What does Christ require of me now, in thought, word or action? 

 

A reflection on today’s reading… 

I have been avoiding a subject lately.  There have been many posts shared by people on facebook, in and out of my circle of friends, which are coming from ministry people who, I believe, are word faith, prosperity and health teachers.  I have been avoiding and ignoring because I did not want to hurt anyone’s feelings and sometimes I am just not sure how to best approach the situation.

 

Last night, after seeing just one post too many, I decided to post a general status that would be seen by everyone that addressed the issue.   Here is what I posted…

“But there were also false prophets among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you. They will secretly introduce destructive heresies, even denying the sovereign Lord who bought them—bringing swift destruction on themselves.” 2 Peter 2:1 

Use wisdom and discernment in all that you post, share and tweet…”

 

This morning as I was reading my devotional emails God spoke to me on this subject through these words… 

30 Days of Prayer: Jesus Speaks 

Day 10: You Are Not Alone 

“And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever—the Spirit of truth.”

–John 14:16 (NIV) 

Jesus promised that the Holy Spirit is always available to inspire and lead us on our journeys. When we feel overwhelmed by a situation—circumstances at work, money challenges, relationship issues—the Counselor can help us have the wisdom and understanding to make choices that are in line with our faith and deepest values. 

Faith Step: Is there a problem where you need divine clarity? Invite the Holy Spirit to guide you. 

To which I added this statement when I posted them to my personal facebook page…

“Amazing, amazing and again I say amazing…the answer to how to be wise and discerning in all that you say, post, share and tweet….”

1390468_454841864633207_1006481367_n

 

And then I read the assignment for Day 24 and found these words…

“18 Dear children, the last hour is here. You have heard that the Antichrist is coming, and already many such antichrists have appeared. From this we know that the last hour has come. 19 These people left our churches, but they never really belonged with us; otherwise they would have stayed with us. When they left, it proved that they did not belong with us. 

20 But you are not like that, for the Holy One has given you his Spirit, and all of you know the truth. 21 So I am writing to you not because you don’t know the truth but because you know the difference between truth and lies. 22 And who is a liar? Anyone who says that Jesus is not the Christ. Anyone who denies the Father and the Son is an antichrist. 23 Anyone who denies the Son doesn’t have the Father, either. But anyone who acknowledges the Son has the Father also. 

24 So you must remain faithful to what you have been taught from the beginning. If you do, you will remain in fellowship with the Son and with the Father. 25 And in this fellowship we enjoy the eternal life he promised us. 

26 I am writing these things to warn you about those who want to lead you astray. 27 But you have received the Holy Spirit, and he lives within you, so you don’t need anyone to teach you what is true. For the Spirit teaches you everything you need to know, and what he teaches is true—it is not a lie. So just as he has taught you, remain in fellowship with Christ.” 

I strongly believe that we are either in or heading into the end-times and we have to be so careful about who we listen to and who we believe.  My one-word resolution in 2012 was…truth, I was to speak His truth into the lives of others and live out His truth in my own life.  I was not supposed to avoid or ignore those opportunities to speak His life-giving truth.  At the end of 2012 this is what I had learned about my one-word resolution, truth.

 

#1 – I need to enter every conversation humbly 

#2 – I do not go with my feelings about a situation, but from His leading 

#3 – I don’t wait until it feels like the situation and I am out of control before I speak up; 

#4 – I ask God to prepare the hearts of all involved for the truth He has for us 

#5 – No matter how badly I feel what I am saying is truth from Him; I am not God…I can only sow the seeds; He will do the watering and tending. 

#6 – I cannot speak truth to others if I am not open to listening to the truth from others; even my harshest critics are going to share some truth from Him with me.  I believe that there is always at least a little bit of truth in what others share. 

#7 – Sometimes I need a new perspective on the “truth” in a situation

 

#7 led me to my one-word resolution for 2013…perspective.  I believe that God wanted me to walk this current year in truth with a godly perspective.  I am not supposed to operate from just my feelings on the situation, I am supposed to look to Him and do my best to speak truth by seeing the situations through His eyes.

Last night, I almost forgot #3…avoidance is a slippery slope and the devil wants me to speak-up from an out of control perspective.  Why?  Who is going to listen to someone who is speaking and writing from a crazy place???  I was primed and ready to just let these tapping fingers do their worst…but thankfully, GOD stepped in and I allowed Him to do the typing.

Can I just tell you that I hope you are doing these readings with a heart that is searching for a word from God to help you as you walk through 2014?  These one-word resolutions are transformational!!!

Can I also share with you that we do have to be so careful about who we allow to minister to our soul…not only for our own sake, but also for the sake of the people who read what you share?  I don’t want to be responsible for leading anyone down the wrong path and so before I post something from someone I do not know…I follow these guidelines.

 

  1. Pray – I ask God for His guidance, wisdom and discernment and, to make me uncomfortable with anything that does not come from Him. 
  2. Google, Bing or any other search engine…I look for their web-site…pastors, ministry leaders, prophetic speakers…usually has a web-site.  I read about their beliefs and how their ministry operates. 
  3. You-tube – normally you can find a video that will allow you to listen to them preach or share a message.  These are good indicators of how true they stay to the gospel.  

 

The most important, of course, is to pray…be led by the Holy Spirit in all that you say, post, share and tweet.  If it’s not from God or you are not positive it is from God…don’t say, don’t post it, don’t share it and don’t tweet it.  Once you have put it out into the world, you are now responsible for all of those who take it to heart, and you will be answerable to God for those words.

We are reading His words; we should know the difference between His truth and the devil’s lies.  We need to always operate from His truth and from His perspective.  Really, they go hand in hand.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4_GPBZPdQiI

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

