Posted by: heisourstrongtower | October 4, 2013

Many Strands Challenge ~ Seeking God’s Wisdom for 2014 ~ Day 5

Seeking God's Wisdom - Day 5Today’s Assignment ~ Make sure that you have your prayer journal with you as you complete each day’s reading. You are going to want to keep track of the verses that are resonating with you, as you read.

1. If you have not already done so, answer the questions in this blog-post;

https://heisourstrongtower.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/many-strands-challenge-seeking-gods-wisdom-for-2014/

If you have answered them…review your answers prior to reading today’s assignment.

2. Say a prayer asking God to reveal Himself to you through His word.

3. Read Matthew 15 ~ 17 – As you read, highlight verses that are speaking to your heart and reflect on these questions…

• What is the main point of this portion?

• What does God – Father, Son or Holy Spirit – reveal of himself?

• What insight am I given into myself and into my life situation? Is there an example of a warning to heed? A promise to claim?

• What does Christ require of me now, in thought, word or action?

A reflection on today’s reading…

7 You hypocrites! Isaiah was right when he prophesied about you, for he wrote,

8 ‘These people honor me with their lips,
but their hearts are far from me.
9 Their worship is a farce,
for they teach man-made ideas as commands from God.’”

10 Then Jesus called to the crowd to come and hear. “Listen,” he said, “and try to understand. 11 It’s not what goes into your mouth that defiles you; you are defiled by the words that come out of your mouth.”

12 Then the disciples came to him and asked, “Do you realize you offended the Pharisees by what you just said?”

13 Jesus replied, “Every plant not planted by my heavenly Father will be uprooted, 14 so ignore them. They are blind guides leading the blind, and if one blind person guides another, they will both fall into a ditch.”

15 Then Peter said to Jesus, “Explain to us the parable that says people aren’t defiled by what they eat.”

16 “Don’t you understand yet?” Jesus asked. 17 “Anything you eat passes through the stomach and then goes into the sewer. 18 But the words you speak come from the heart—that’s what defiles you. 19 For from the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, all sexual immorality, theft, lying, and slander. 20 These are what defile you. Eating with unwashed hands will never defile you.” Matthew 15:7-20

Oh, the words that can come out of the mouth…not only are we defiled by the words that come forth from our mouths; we are defined by them too. Out of our mouth we speak what is in our heart.

That’s why it is so important to guard our heart.

“Above all else guard your heart, for everything flows from it.” Proverbs 4:23

d90593378b5751cec2700647478b60b8

How do I guard my heart?

I guard my heart by what I allow to feed it. I am careful about the television shows I watch. I am careful about the music that I listen to. I am careful about the books I read. I am careful about the people I allow to teach and preach to me. I try to be careful to filter everything through God.

Am I always successful?

Nope! I am not!

I do try to stop and think about the consequences from what I say and what I post much more than I used to. I have found something that really helps me with this and I have it posted on the mirror in my bedroom. (I also use this to help me discern who is speaking truth from God).

EIGHT TESTS FOR DECISION MAKING

1. SCRIPTURAL TEST………..”Has God already spoken about it in his word (2Timothy 3:16)

2. SECRECY TEST………….”Would it bother me if everyone knew this was my choice?” (Proverbs 11:3)

3. SURVEY TEST…………..”What if everyone followed my example?” (1Timothy 4:12)

4. SPIRITUAL TEST………….”Am I being people-pressured or spiritual-led?” (Galatians 1:10)

5. STUMBLING TEST………..”Could this cause another person to stumble?” (Romans 14:21)

6. SERENITY TEST………..”Have I prayed and received peace about this decision?” (Phillipians 4:6-7)

7. SANCTIFICATION TEST…….”Will this keep me from growing in the character of Christ?” (2Corinthians 3:18)

8. SUPREME TEST…………”Does this glorify God?” (1Corinthians 10:31)

So how did God speak to you through today’s reading assignment?

Responses

  1. I think todays reading is telling us to do no evil, speak no evil and live no evil because the way to the kingdom is living right which is hard for us as humans because of this or that. So seek ye first the kingdom of God and all things are possible thru him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

