Posted by: heisourstrongtower | September 19, 2013

My Hope is in the Son!

This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary. Hebrews 6:19

hope (1)

I have been reading the devotions on the site called ibelieve.com lately.  They are well written and most of the time relevant to what I am going through currently.  Sometimes I even feel that they have taken a peek into my life and are writing my story.  Like the one I shared yesterday!

This morning when I received my email I eagerly looked at the different posts and clicked on one that was called…”Waiting on God and Praying for a Child”.  This title has two meanings, depending on your perspective.  My perspective, at this time in my life, is waiting on God and praying for Him to move in the life of the child I already gave birth to…the author’s perspective is waiting on God and praying for Him to give her a child.

Even though my expectations of what I was going to read did not match the devotion’s intent, I went ahead and read it.  It has caused a disturbance in my day that I just can’t shake.  I don’t want to misquote the author and so I am going to share the sentence which caused a crack in my heart, with you, AND provide a link to her blog.

“And I had prayed that I didn’t want to have a child if it would mean they wouldn’t follow the Lord—that would be an even worse future to me than a childless one.”

Waiting on God and Praying for a Child

I live in her “worse future”.

Someone else is living out my “worse future”.

I want to assure her that even though I would rather my son followed the Lord every day…my “worse future” would be one where he did not exist.

I did not always supply the right example…his current unfaithfulness is a direct result of my own.  God brought me back to Him and I know He can do it in the life of my son.  I see His work in my son’s life daily.

Most of us are waiting on God and I do believe that whether you have a child or not…most of us are praying for a child in our life.

The most important thing I am learning during my time of waiting on the Lord is this…it is not about who my son is or isn’t, it is about who Jesus is!

My hope is not in my son.  My Hope is in THE SON!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RRZgr7wNDs

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

