Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 21, 2013

Wife After God ~ Day 8 ~ Confident Worthiness

th (18)

Who determines my worthiness and what are they using as a filter????

You know I could sit down and write out a long list of all the reasons that I am not worthy.  My sins and mistakes are varied and many, none of those things make me worthy of God.

I could also sit down and write out a list of all the reasons that I am worthy.  My attributes and virtues are also varied and I can come up with a list of good things about me, but again, none of those things make me worthy of God.

There is only one thing that makes me worthy of God….Jesus died on the cross, He rose again and I am worthy!!!!

I don’t always remember this though.

I want to dig deeper into this word “worthy” and see why it is so difficult for me to focus on Jesus as the definer of my worth.  How is worthy defined?

1. Having worth, merit, or value; useful or valuable.

2. Honorable; admirable: a worthy fellow.

3. Having sufficient worth; deserving: worthy to be revered; worthy of acclaim.

Wow, if I look at this definition I see Jesus shining out of #3.  ”Deserving: worthy to be revered; worthy of acclaim.”

Okay, let’s break it down just a little bit more…here are some synonyms for “worthy”. praiseworthy, good, excellent, deserving, valuable, decent, reliable, worthwhile, respectable, upright, admirable, honorable, honest,  righteous, reputable, virtuous, dependable, commendable, creditable, laudable, meritorious, estimable…

THE LIGHT BULB JUST WENT ON!!!  Again, all these words seem to point to one person…Jesus!  When I consider my worthiness I come up lacking; because I am not worthy.   I am focusing on the wrong person!  I am only worthy because of God’s grace and mercy.

This is truly a breakthrough moment for me and for my marriage, and it can be used in all the relationships in my life.  Jesus needs to be the filter we use when we look at ourselves, and how we look at others.

If I am looking at myself, without my Jesus filter…I am going to define me by the world’s standards.  

If I am looking at my husband, without my Jesus filter…I am going to define him by the world’s standards.

If I am looking at my children, without my Jesus filter…I am going to define them by the world’s standards. 

If I am looking at my grandchildren, without my Jesus filter…I am going to define them by the world’s standards. 

If I am looking at my other family members, without my Jesus filter…I am going to define them by the world’s standards. 

If I am looking at my friend’s, without my Jesus filter…I am going to define them by the world’s standards.

If I am looking at stranger’s, without my Jesus filter…I am going to define them by the world’s standards. 

Here is the real breakthrough moment for me….

If I don’t always have my Jesus filter in place, then that must mean that others aren’t always wearing Him when they look at me.  Sometimes, I am deemed unworthy by the world’s standards because Jesus is not even a part of equation.

Just because someone said it, does not make it true!

Confident worthiness can only come when our focus is on the very definition for our worth…JESUS!

 
 
 
Confident Worthiness
 
Responses

  1. […] and came across an incredibly cool website I have to share with you!  It’s called He is Our Strong Tower.  When I saw the URL I immediately thought of the Christian song of the same name and wanted to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

