Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 17, 2013

Wife After God ~ Day 4 ~ Your Spouse is a Gift

And sometimes you need to surprise them with a “gift” of time together.  I used one of the words from yesterday’s post, “Inspired”, along with the challenge issued in day 3 – “Spend time with your husband doing an activity he would prefer to do”.  Here are the results from that challenge.

“Peter, what are your plans for this morning?” I asked him this morning.

With eyebrows raised in question, he replied, “I was going to walk Charlie and then I need to mow your parents yard. Why?”

“I just wanted to get about an hour of your time this morning after you walk Charlie, and before you go mow at my parents.  I wanted to go somewhere.”

“Where did you want to go?”, he asked me with trepidation.

I simply said, “Creve Coeur Lake.”

“Okay, let me take Charlie for a walk and then we can go?”

A little bit of background for those of you not familiar with this Lake in St. Louis…it is about 5 minutes from our house, there is a walking trail that goes around the Lake, and it is very picturesque.  Huge shade trees cover long stretches of the trail, wild flowers bloom on the either side, there are a couple of bridges that take you over the water and you, of course, meet lots of interesting people along the way.

When we got to the Lake I told him where to park and then I started walking toward the place where our adventure would begin. Peter could see I was heading toward the building where you could rent bicycles, canoes, kayaks or what I intended to rent…a quadrocycle.  He began to panic, just a bit, behind me. “Patti….Patti…what are you going to rent?  Let’s talk about this first.”

I turned around and smiled, “Don’t worry, it’s going to be fun and I promise it won’t hurt a bit.  Oh, and it’s my treat.”

And so this is my story of a successful adventure of companionship with my husband, where we rode on a bicycle built for four around Creve Coeur Lake.  We rode it for an hour and yes, my legs not only look like a bowl full of jello, now they feel like a bowl full of jello. All worth it though… because we had fun!!

Peter has not been to church in about 3 weeks, something else always seems to come up that requires his assistance elsewhere…right before he left to go to my parent’s he asked me what time we needed to leave for church tonight.  I love receiving a blessing on the same day that I bless someone else.

Thank You God for this book and the challenge that was issued yesterday.  Thank You for the companionship of my husband and for reminding me that we do have fun together.  It just sometimes requires a little imagination, a willingness to try new things and intentionally making the time to be together.  Thank You for giving me the get-up and go this morning to do the right thing.  This scripture sat on my mind and in my heart last night and it truly did inspire me.  “All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right.” 2 Timothy 3:16  In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Wife After God Day 4

How about another song for today???


Leave a comment

Categories

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

WordPress.com News

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

Marie Isom.com

Connecting hearts to the riches in Christ

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.