Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 15, 2013

I’m Justified ~ Wife After God ~ Day 2 ~ Marriage By Design

WifeAfterGod_Graphics1-150x150

Today’s Bible Reading is found in Ephesians 5:21-33 (NLT).

21 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. 

22 Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. 23 For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. 24 Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything. 

25 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26 to make her holy, cleansing[a] her by the washing with water through the word, 27 and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. 28 In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. 29 After all, no one ever hated their own body, but they feed and care for their body, just as Christ does the church— 30 for we are members of his body. 31 “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.”[b] 32 This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about Christ and the church. 33 However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

 marriage

I literally laughed out loud when I read the post for Day 2 in the book, “Wife After God.”  Why???  Well…because of this sentence in the prayer Jennifer shared;

“Take away the selfish parts of my heart that seeks to justify why I should or should not do something for my husband.”

One of my biggest hurdles in sharing my life with all of you, as I am reading this book, is fighting the urge to give you some justifications for my behavior.  I actually received the title to this post for today, last night, before I even read Day 2.  I was having another one of my “in my head conversations” and I believe God was offering me a little play on words.

The way I used this word in the past was to prove or show myself to be just, right, or reasonable.

“I reacted this way because his behavior left me no choice.” 

“My response was perfectly reasonable in light of what he did to me.”

Those are just two examples of me justifying my own sinful conduct.  I needed to take in the advice that I would recite to my children…day in and day out; “No one can force a negative reaction from you unless you have given them permission.”  I just got hit with another truth as I wrote this…

“No wonder my kids needed this reminder, almost, on a daily basis, this is a perfect illustration of how our kids learn by our example.”

I was not exhibiting the behavior that I wanted them to model.  I was not leading from a godly perspective.

As I shared with on Tuesday, I want to be different, I want to change, I need to do better!  Toward that end, I want to use the word “justified” as God planned it.  I want to be justified by God! In my marriage! As a mother! And as a grandmother!

I want to reflect God in all areas of my life; especially one of the most important relationships in my life here on earth…with my husband.  I believe that I will experience a breakthrough in many more areas of my life when I completely surrender my marriage into God’s care.

And as proof of the very last sentence, I received a call from my daughter last night and she shared a very special moment from the life of her family.  My oldest grandson, Ayden, starts middle school tomorrow and he is our worrier. They were able to tour the school tonight and help him locate all of his classes. My daughter said that it is not easy to navigate his school and that she was even confused by the end of their time in the school.

They got home and Sara decided that they needed to open the Jesus Calling devotion and read it; not something that she would normally do. She said, “Mom, it reinforced the point we were trying to make to Ayden. We then got into a circle, holding hands and we went around the circle…each one of us said a prayer.”  Here is what they read…

Jesus Calling for Kids – August 14th
Rock Solid

This world is constantly changing – time passes, seasons change, people change. Even your body is constantly changing and growing. Nothing on this earth stays the same. But I never change. I am always the same – yesterday, today and forever.

Because I never change, you can always count on Me. Friends may move away; you may switch churches or schools; homes can be destroyed. Sometimes it can feel like your life has been turned completely upside down. When that happens, come to Me. I am rock-solid. You never have to be afraid, because I am always with you and I never change.

Psalm 102:25 -27 (NLT) -Long ago you laid the foundation of the earth and made the heavens with your hands. They will perish, but you remain forever; they will wear out like old clothing. You will change them like a garment and discard them. But you are always the same; you will live forever.

Revelation 1:8 -“I am the Alpha and the Omega—the beginning and the end,” says the Lord God. “I am the one who is, who always was, and who is still to come—the Almighty One.”

Hebrews 13:8 – Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.

Psalm 48:14 – For that is what God is like. He is our God forever and ever, and he will guide us until we die. 

All this Mae Mae can say at this moment is…“You go God! Thank You!”

Can I just take a moment to encourage you to share a devotional time with the children in your life, every chance you get.  If you are a mother and your children are living at home, the Jesus Calling Devotional for Kids is a wonderful resource.  I gave one to my grandchildren to have at home and I bought one for those times that they are with me.  We used it all summer.  It has also encouraged them to open their Bibles to look up verses.  Okay commercial is over and back to the task at hand…

I serve an awesome God and He wants me to do the right thing, always.  He is going to bless me in the manner that will best motivate me to keep going down the path of faith and stop walking in fear.

And just in case I might have missed His hand in all of this, God has been singing to my heart through some awesome songs that He made sure were played on the radio every single time I get into my car.  I am going to share some of those songs on my blog with you over the next few days…let’s get our worship on together.

Song for today…

I would love to know if you are taking this journey with me and if there is a specific way that I can pray for you and your marriage, please let me know.  It would be an honor to pray for you.

I am looking forward to what God is going to reveal to me in Day 3’s reading…see ya tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

