Posted by: heisourstrongtower | August 14, 2013

Wife After God ~ Day 1 ~ God’s Purpose for Your Marriage

This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun! 2 Corinthians 5:17 (NLT)

2Corinthians5_17

 

What have I gotten myself into????

I believe that I have read Day 1 in this book five times!  It is called avoidance.  What am I avoiding…this blog and the truths that smacked me in the face today.  I think there should be music playing in the background of my life right now.  What music???  How about the theme song from the cartoon…”George of the Jungle”!!!  Really, I only need the announcer to let me know to “watch out for that…truth you don’t want to see”.

Yes, I am being bombarded with some truths here lately.  This. Is. Not. Going. To. Be. Easy!  Transformation rarely is easy or comfortable.  I can actually feel the blisters forming as I try walking in these new shoes.

“Patti, your still avoiding the truth.  Get. To. The. Point.”

1. I have no idea what God’s purpose was or is for my marriage.  Ouch! Ouch! Ouch!  Don’t know why that confession hurts as much as it does?  I mean, I know that one of His purposes for us was to bring Sara and Keith into this world, but beyond the children we were given to care for…I really have never considered the impact that Peter and I, together, are to have in God’s plan on this earth.  Is there something more God has planned for us to complete as a couple???  This thought is taking me in a different direction than I have ever considered before.   I have spent lots of time speculating on God’s plan for me…I need to change that perspective and concentrate more on we.

2. This is much more difficult to share.  I do not thank God for Peter as much as I should.  I actually got out my handwritten journal of prayers to make sure that I did, indeed, on occasion thank God for my husband.  I am saddened that I actually had to look in my journal for that answer instead of knowing positively that I have thanked God for Peter.  I have, but not on a daily basis.   I want my marriage to better reflect God’s love and in order for that to happen I need to remember to thank God for Peter and to thank Peter for who he is and all he does for our family.

Dear Lord,

Thank You for this life You have gifted to me.  Thank You for Peter and for the good man he is and that he is continuing to grow more comfortable in his role as spiritual head of our home.  Thank You for keeping us together and for seeing us through our difficult times.  Help me Lord, to express my gratitude and love to Peter every day.  Help us walk hand in hand with You and each other…help us to keep You in the center of our marriage and our home.  Make our marriage into a new creation that glorifies You. In the name of Jesus I pray, Amen.  

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

