Posted by: heisourstrongtower | July 30, 2013

God’s Attention Grabbers!

Sunday I shared with you that I needed to concentrate more on the power of my words.  The Lord has really gotten my attention in this matter…He flooded my Monday with lots of help in this area.

560654_214017525382310_1356516404_n

Attention Grabber #1 – 

I was driving to my daughter’s house to pick up the grandchildren early Monday morning and just as I rounded the bend for the last turn to their home, this song came on the radio.

“Words” by Hawk Nelson

They’ve made me feel like a prisoner
They’ve made me feel set free
They’ve made me feel like a criminal
Made me feel like a king

They’ve lifted my heart
To places I’d never been
And they’ve dragged me down
Back to where I began

Words can build you up
Words can break you down
Start a fire in your heart or
Put it out

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

You can heal the heartache
Speak over the fear
(Speak over the fear)
God, Your voice is the only thing
We need to hear
(We need to hear)

Words can build us up
Words can break us down
Start a fire in our hearts or
Put it out

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You
(Back to You)

Let the words I say
(Let the words I say)
Be the sound of Your grace
(Sound like Your grace)
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

I wanna speak Your love
Not just another noise
Oh, I wanna be Your light
I wanna be Your voice

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You
(Back to You)

Let the words I say
(Let the words I say)
Be the sound of Your grace
(Sound like Your grace)
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You
(Back to You)

Words can build us up
Words can break us down
Start a fire in our hearts
Or put it out

I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

Attention Grabber #2 –
After I got to the house and the kids were done with their breakfast my youngest grandson reminded me that we needed to read the devotion in Jesus Calling for Kids…conviction and confession time for Mae Mae all over again.

Jesus Calling for Kids – July 29th
Wandering Thoughts

Come to Me at all times. I want to be the Center of your life, of all your thoughts. I know that sometimes you need to think about math or chores or friends. You need to think about what to wear, what to say, and what to do – and that’s okay. I can still be the center of your thoughts, even when they are about math. After all, I created numbers. And I can be the center of your thoughts as you consider whether what you’re wearing, saying, and doing are pleasing to Me.

But sometimes your thoughts wander to things you shouldn’t be thinking about. The question is, how far and how long do you let them wander? When your minds drifts away, My Spirit gives you a little tug – telling you to return to Me. Don’t ignore the Spirit’s tug. Come back to Me.

1 John 2:28 (NLT) – And now, dear children, remain in fellowship with Christ so that when he returns, you will be full of courage and not shrink back from him in shame.

Hebrews 6:19 – This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary.

Matthew 22:37 – Jesus replied, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’

We read and discussed the devotion.  At one point I mentioned to them that we had to be intentional with our thoughts and our words, because we want everything we do and say to be pleasing to God.  I, once again, told them that my behavior the previous day did not please God.  It also gave us an opportunity to talk about how we should be building each other up and not putting each other down.  We decided that other people, outside of our family, could be watching how we talk and behave toward each other and that our behavior could point people to seek Jesus through our words.

Attention Grabber #3 – 

This excerpt from the Girlfriends in God devotion yesterday…hit the nail on the proverbial head!!!  Mary Southerland’s message from God was spot-on and just what God had ordered for this Mae Mae to read, at the beginning of this day.   Cause the good Lord knows that I need these reminders, at least once a day…if not more.

Godly responses come from the heart. If there is something wrong with our words, then there is something wrong with our heart. The truth of Proverbs 16:23 is profound in its simplicity, “A wise man’s heart guides his mouth.”

A judge utters a few words and a guilty man is taken to death row.

A friend speaks a word of encouragement and a desperate heart finds hope.

A mother lashes out with angry words and the light in her child’s eyes is gone.

A wife offers a word of forgiveness and a marriage is restored.

A gossip makes a phone call and a reputation is destroyed.

A teenager says “no” and changes the course of her life.

Words are powerful. Words can destroy or build. We need to make the choice today – to respond in the right way to those angry words that are surely headed our way tomorrow.

http://www.girlfriendsingod.com/2013/taming-the-tongue-3/

My grandchildren and I are going to be memorizing some verses this morning.  They can use them to hold me accountable and I in turn will do the same with them.

Psalm 141:3 “LORD, help me control my tongue; help me be careful about what I say.”

Psalm 19:14 ”May the words of my mouth and the thoughts of my heart be pleasing to you, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.”

I am also going to borrow Mary’s prayer from yesterday’s devotion to pray with my grandchildren this morning.

Father, I want to please You and encourage others with the words I speak. Clean my heart, God. Transform my mind and fill my mouth with words that honor and please You.  And one more thing Lord, please keep your arm around my shoulder and your hand over my mouth.”

In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

