Posted by: heisourstrongtower | July 28, 2013

A Flood of Words

I posted on my facebook page, a few days back, this message for my friends…”Just wanted to let you all know, in case anyone would look for me, that I am going to be off and on, but mostly off, the radar for the next week or so. Will be back on radar August 5th! Be kind to each other and don’t forget to spend time in prayer, meditating and reading God’s word. See ya’ll later!”

As you can see, it is sooner rather than later!  🙂 I have come back “on” radar because of something that was laid on my heart this morning during the church service.

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

3115131056_649663aa3e_z

I facilitated a study last year called “The Power of a Woman’s Words” by Sharon Jaynes. I did not begin the journey with a cheerful heart, it was not something that I really wanted to do, I felt obligated to lead the on-line study of this book. It did not take me long to be convicted about my own words through the words I was reading. This book impacted me greatly and this morning God brought this book back to my mind, through my pastor’s message and I think I need a refresher course.

My pastor made a statement about how a flood of words can change a life…these words can make a negative change or they can make a positive change. What type of change do you make with your words??

I was convicted on my not-so-positive flood of words this very morning with my grandchildren. We had slightly more than 30 minutes to get ready for church this morning and I was not exhibiting Jesus while I was trying to get four grandchildren ready, fed and out the door for church. I even found myself, at one point, offering up this excuse for my less than Christ-like behavior, “You have given them an awesome experience this weekend through camping in Mae Mae and Papa’s backyard.  They got to play in the pool, build sand castles,  eat Hot-dogs, chips and smores, as well as play Uno, and then we shot-off some fireworks…”  I was allowing myself to believe that all those fun things could make up for my impatient demeanor and my irritation with their lack of speediness.

They don’t!

This is one time that my “actions did not speak louder than my words.”

I can do wonderful things for my grandchildren…

I can play games with them…

I can plan fantastically fun adventures with them…

I can cook all of their favorite foods…

But my words can zero out all of that positive and leave us all in the negative!

I am reminded of my own grandmother who professed to be a good Christian woman, who did lots of wonderful things for other people, her family included, but what she “did” was not always in line with what she said.  I very clearly remember those times that her words hurt my feelings…as a child and as an adult.

I want my words to match-up to the things I do with my grandchildren.  I know that I am going to mess up from time to time, but one of the most important things that I have learned that is absolutely necessary for those times that I don’t get it right is, I need to…

ADMIT IT!

QUIT IT!

AND FORGET IT!

I told them I was sorry!  I told them I was wrong!  I told them I love them.  Very much!

And they forgave me and I know God forgave me too!

The reason I know that God forgave me is because the children’s church showed up onstage and sang a song for the congregation!  God caused a flood of tears to fall from this Mae Mae’s eyes through the blessing of watching my four grandchildren, singing and praising Him…with their arms raised to the heavens.

Note to self – get out “The Power of a Woman’s Words” and re-read some of the material.

Lord, You know that I don’t deserve Your mercy or Your grace and yet, You give it to me anyway.  Thank You for blessing me more than I deserve and please Lord, continue to watch over the lives of my grandchildren.  Make me a blessing to them as much as they are a blessing to me.  Thank You for allowing me to be their Mae Mae.  I love You, Lord!  May all that I do and all that I say bring honor and glory to Your name.  In Jesus name, Amen.

I love you more

Responses


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

