Posted by: heisourstrongtower | July 10, 2013

My Side, Your Side and God’s Truth

“For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” 1 Corinthians 13:12

1_Corinthians_13-12

My grandchildren and I discussed this Bible verse this week, it was one of the verses referenced in the July 8th Jesus Calling.  We decided that this verse meant that we are only getting a taste, here on earth, of what life is going to be like in heaven.  Our discussion then moved to what we think heaven is going to be like and I have to say that I am looking forward to taking my first trip down a water slide made of gold!!!!  How about you???

I have to tell you though that God brought a new meaning to this Bible verse, during my quiet time today.  I see multiple posts on facebook that speak to how only God knows our hearts and how others misunderstand our good intentions, judge our words or deeds, find fault in us or blame what they truly do not understand about us.  Friends there are always 3 sides to every situation…my side, your side and God’s truth!!!

I can tell you with absolute honesty that sometimes, my good intentions are just not good.  Sometimes my words or deeds need to be judged.  Sometimes there is false in me and I need to be blamed, because I do not always see myself clearly.  Sometimes the reflection that I see in the mirror is what I want to see rather than what is really looking me in the eye.

I have said this before and I think it bears repeating…”There is going to be truth in every criticism we receive from someone; constructive or not.”  If we believe that God uses everything for our good, then we are going to find God in everything that is said to us or about us.

I have learned that the words, from others, that park in my heart and mind…there is a reason that they are there.  I either need to learn something from them or they are being used to bring me closer to God.  If they don’t matter they won’t take up space in my brain.  I need to deal in order to heal!

I just want to thank God for fully knowing and understanding my heart, even better than I do!  I want to thank Him for bringing conviction to my life in whatever form He knows is best for me.  I am looking forward to the day that I understand, fully, all of God’s truth in my life.

I found these pictures on-line of other versions of today’s verse…LOVE THEM too!

1corinthians13_12

ch001

tumblr_mgsyb4r0DH1ruj983o1_1280

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

