Posted by: heisourstrongtower | July 5, 2013

Well-Pleasing In His Sight

“If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.” Romans 12:18

543210_11762481_b

Summer school is over and once again I will be helping my daughter and son-in-law by watching the children for them, during the week, while they work.  As I drove home from their house this afternoon, I was thinking about how this day was just a little bit more difficult than normal and I wondered why.  It did not take long for me to realize that I did not begin our day together as I should have and, trust me, it is not going to happen again.

At the beginning of summer, one of the very first things we would do was read the “Jesus Calling Devotion for Kids” and then get into a circle, hold hands and pray.  I blew it big time this morning because I did not do any of that…and believe me, our day together and our attitudes toward each other…perfectly reflected our lack of time together with God.

I let my grandchildren down because I did not step up and lead by example this morning.  One of the most precious parts of our day, for me, has been reading and discussing the devotions from Sarah Young, and then having the opportunity to listen to each one of my grandchildren pray to God.  It doesn’t get better than that and I owe them an apology and an explanation, and I am going to ask them to hold me accountable…from now on!

Just in case you might have missed my meaning here…the five of us, my four grandchildren and I, did not live in peace together today.  I do not like when that happens and I know God does not like it either.

I believe I need to put together a list to use moving forward of verses to pray when we are out of peace with each other.

Using Romans 12:18; I can pray for me…

“Lord, no matter what frustration I may feel with my grandchildren today, help me to live at peace with them as far as it depends on me!  Give me the self-control to avoid overreacting to my frustrations. ”

For them we can pray..

Jesus, Please help my grandchildren to live at peace with one another {and me} today. Give them the self-control to stay calm when they are frustrated and avoid quarreling with each other.”

Other verses we can use to pray about our attitudes and behaviors to each other are…

A hot-tempered person starts fights; a cool-tempered person stops them. ~Proverbs 15:18

A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. ~Proverbs 15:1

A patient man has great understanding, but a quick-tempered man displays folly.~Proverbs 14:29

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. ~Colossians 3:17

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.~Ephesians 4:29

A kindhearted woman gains honor, but ruthless men gain only wealth. ~Proverbs 11:16

You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God. ~1 Peter 3:4

These verses are good for the children to learn and not just for those times when I am watching them, but for them to meditate on and keep them close to their hearts as they grow in stature and wisdom.

Children, obey your parents in everything, for this pleases the Lord. ~Colossians 3:20

Help me understand Your instruction, and I will obey it and follow it with all my heart.~Psalm 119:34

Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and always to be gentle toward everyone. ~Titus 3:1-2

Do to others as you would have them do to you. ~Luke 6:31

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. ~Philippians 2:3

Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor. ~Romans 12:10

How can a young person stay on the path of purity? By living according to your word.~Psalm 119:9

Show me your ways, Lord, teach me your paths. Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. ~Psalm 25:4-5

The way of fools seems right to them, but the wise listen to advice. ~Proverbs 12:15

My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry… ~James 1:19

Cease to hear instruction, my son, and you will stray from the words of knowledge.~Proverbs 19:27

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. ~1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Do everything without complaining and arguing. ~Philippians 2:14

You will follow the example of those who are going to inherit God’s promises because of their faith and endurance. ~Hebrews 6:12

Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. ~Colossians 3:23

So be careful how you live. Don’t live like fools, but like those who are wise. Make the most of every opportunity in these evil days. Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do. ~Ephesians 5:15-17

I think we are going to be very busy until school starts memorizing verses and working on becoming all that God has created us to be; together!  Each one of us is still a work in progress!!!

6b94e1df76d1b0e6a7f4c35f92a6a031

Dear Lord, Make us perfect in every good work to do Your will, working in us that which is well-pleasing in Your sight, through Jesus Christ; to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen. (Hebrews 13:21)

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

