Posted by: heisourstrongtower | July 2, 2013

Sabbatical – Days 29 & 30 – Find Rest

There are times when I do believe if you took my heart from my body and weighed it…it would weigh a ton!  Sometimes it feels so heavy that I am surprised I am able to walk around upright.

25 “At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father. You are Lord of heaven and earth. You have hidden these things from the wise and educated. But you have shown them to little children. 26 Yes, Father. This is what you wanted. 27 “My Father has given all things to me. The Father is the only one who knows the Son. And the only ones who know the Father are the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to make him known. 28 “Come to me, all of you who are tired and are carrying heavy loads. I will give you rest. 29 Become my servants and learn from me. I am gentle and free of pride. You will find rest for your souls. 30 Serving me is easy, and my load is light.” Matthew 11:25-30

matthew_11_beach_scenic_christian_bible_art_print-rba7fa55f10844c46ba4d456c023752cb_wvw_8byvr_512

God did not make me to carry the weight of this world upon my own shoulders.  He did not make me to bear the burden for all those who are suffering from injustice and persecution.

We live in a broken world where daily I see and read things that defy my understanding of how we are to treat all creatures on this earth; great and small.

It is how I react to the chaos that determines the heaviness of my heart.

I am a person who likes to grab all the grocery bags from the car and bring them into the house, in one trip…and invariably something gets dropped and broken.

My heavy-duty washer and dryer can handle a large load…so large that my laundry basket is not big enough to carry it all.  And yet, I take all the clean clothes, pile them into my basket which was not made to hold such a heavy load…and later I find a trail of things that I dropped along the way.

I can be the same way in my relationship with God.  I take a whole laundry list of trouble upon myself and start trying to walk with it, all balanced teetering, on my shoulders and guess what happens????

Things get dropped and broken!

Cause I can’t do it on my own!

I NEED GOD!

I NEED JESUS!

God uses the situations in my world and in the world around me to bring me to my knees and to the throne of Jesus.  Sleepless nights and a heavy heart are not His plans for my life.  I need to unload some of those bags and baskets unto Him…“Come to me, all of you who are tired and are carrying heavy loads. I will give you rest.  Become my servants and learn from me. I am gentle and free of pride. You will find rest for your souls.  Serving me is easy, and my load is light.” 

Dear Jesus, Please help me learn the lessons You desire me to learn in the circumstances of daily life and in the deserts through which I travel. Thank You for being my Oasis that I can look to, hope for, and know will be there at the end of the deserts in life and the end of the great journey of life. In Your Precious Name I Pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

