Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 30, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 28 – You Make Me New

“Good night, Patti. It’s time to close those eyes and sleep.”

“Mom, I need to say my prayer.”

“Okay, say your prayer.”

“Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
If I should die before I wake,
I pray the Lord my soul to take. Amen”

I promise you that it was no easy task for me to fall asleep, after reciting that prayer each night.  I would lay there as a child and try to sleep, but my definition of death, at that time, lay there right next to me…wrestling with my mind and keeping me awake.

I met my “old self” the other night in my youngest grandson, as I put him to bed.  There is a song I sing when I put my grandchildren to sleep, and even though Joshua is my youngest grandson…he is also my first.  (My daughter has remarried and we have been blessed with three more grandchildren; Ayden, Ashton and Avery…all older than Joshua).  The song that I sing to them, I have sung to Joshua since he was a baby…almost 7 years now.

“Close your eyes and I’ll kiss you
Tomorrow I’ll miss you
Remember I’ll always be true

And then while I’m away
I’ll write home every day
And I’ll send all my loving to you

All my loving, I will send to you
All my loving, I will send to you.”

In case you don’t recognize the song it is “All My Loving” by the Beatles.

I needed a lullaby to sing, other than Rock-A-Bye-Baby, you know the baby and the cradle crash to the ground in that song, right? Never a good song for a chronic worrier to sing!!!!!

Anyway, one day I found myself singing “All My Loving” to him and it became his lullaby for those times when I put him to sleep.  The other night as I sang to him he began to cry in the middle of the song…

“Joshua, is my singing that bad?’

“No, Mae Mae, I am crying because your voice is beautiful.”  (Yes, he is a charmer and already knows how to distract me from the truth)!!!!!

“Now, Joshua, I know that’s not true…why are you crying?”

“I can’t tell you, Mae Mae.  You really don’t want to know.”  (At this point my eye brows are raised, along with my curiosity).

“Joshua, you need to tell me what is wrong and why you are crying.”

“You are going to die!”  (Well, that was a hold your breath, clutch your chest and maybe I shouldn’t have pushed it moment)!!!!!!!!!!!

And thus, I did indeed meet my 6 – 1/2 year old self embodied in my 6 -1/2 year old grandson.  He was fixating on the words, “Tomorrow I’ll miss you. Remember I’ll always be true.”  Pretty deep thinking for a 6 – 1/2 year old…the apple does not fall far from the tree, did I mention his momma is the same way???

The funniest thing about all of this is we wound up in the same place despite making different choices.  I did not sing Rock-A-Bye-Baby to him because of the cradle and baby crashing to the ground. My daughter chose a different version of the “Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep” prayer, for her kids to say, because of the “if I die before I wake” part of the prayer.  We made what we thought were better choices and we still got the same results.

I think the problem has nothing to do with what lullaby we sing or prayer we recite…it has to do with the heart and the mind of the one we are delivering the message to.

I think that today’s Amazing Promise from God shows us how we are supposed to look at life; eternal life.

“30 Days of Prayer: God’s Amazing Promises

Day 30:
God’s Final Glorious Promise

Then He who sat on the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new.” And He said to me, “Write, for these words are true and faithful.” Revelation 21:5

0101-rev21.5_

This is perhaps the great and ultimate truth, that in Christ and God everything in the world is changed. All becomes fresh and new and transformed. The final glorious promise of God’s goodness is the triumph of His love over pain and death. What could be better?”

What could be better???  Nothing is better than God’s goodness being revealed in Jesus’ triumph over pain and death!!!

Once all of our hearts and minds are pondering on that promise…no song, or nursery rhyme or children’s prayer will keep us awake at night worrying about death because for us…death is not final!  He is going to make all things brand new!!

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on heisourstrongtower and commented:

    I wrote this 3 years ago on this day and shared it on my Facebook page. I love the fact that these memory reruns from Facebook!!!! They help me see my life over again, and help to remind of lessons from my past. Because sometimes you just need that reminder!

    Here is a little rerun from my blogging past. I pray it blesses you this morning!

  2. Loved this, Patti!! You are so good at making connections from the earthly things to the spiritual… Love Ya!

    • Thank you, Wilma! I need to get back to writing. I feel more centered when I am putting my thoughts down!!! Love you back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

