Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 26, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 24 – Defined by Jesus

How does one become a butterfly? You must want to fly so much that you are willing to give up being a caterpillar.
-Trina Paulus

bluebutterfly

 

You know that in order for Jesus to transform you into the person God created you to be, you have to be broken from all those things that hinder you…right????

I know that there are things in my life that are not right.  There are habits and feelings that need to be cut-out of my life because they are keeping me from what God has planned for me.

There are areas in my life that are not the example of a Jesus loving woman of God.  These are the areas that I am holding onto because I have not surrendered them totally to God.  I want to keep control over them because I am comfortable with my sin.  I justify the sin and give myself permission to live with the sin.  It has a place at my table and it walks with me everywhere I go.

I have convinced myself that my sin is not hurting anyone, but me!  I have even been able to convince the people who love me that the sin is not a problem.

Because God loves me.

Just as I am.

If anyone tries to address the sin with me, I tell them that the Bible says “judge not, lest you be judged” or “walk a mile in my shoes, then you’ll understand” or “don’t judge me because I sin differently from you.”

Letting go of it would be like cutting off one of my body parts.  I would have to learn how to be me in this world all over again.  I would have to totally depend on something outside of myself to help me get through every minute of every day.

Wait….what was that?????  I would have to totally depend on something outside of myself to help me get through every minute of every day!!!!!  Isn’t that the answer to the problem????  To stop depending on myself and to totally depend on God!

To become all that God has created me to be, I have to give something up…lots of somethings!  I may even be called to give up who I have thought I was my whole life.  I need to get rid of any word from my vocabulary that describes me as someone other than who Christ says I am!  Christ does not call me by my sins…He calls me “child of God”; He calls me “friend”; He calls me “chosen; He calls me “redeemed” and “forgiven; He calls me “a citizen of heaven”.   What else does Christ say about me; right-click on this link “Biblical Affirmations: Who I Am In Christ” and pick the option “open link in new tab”, to find out.

Oh, and trust me…He says these things about you too!!!

It is very important for us to stop identifying with how the world defines us or how we define ourselves!  We were born into this world, but we are not citizens of this world.  In Christ we are NEW!!!  Let’s start acting like it!!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

