Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 23, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 20 & 21 – 3 Generations in Church

“We won’t hide them from our children.
    We will tell them to those who live after us.
We will tell them about what the Lord has done that is worthy of praise.
    We will talk about his power and the wonderful things he has done.” Psalm 78:4

th (16)

Yesterday afternoon I picked up my grandchildren and we made our monthly overnight visit to my mom and dad’s.  One of my fondest memories from my childhood was the trips we made to Poplar Bluff, MO to visit my great grandparents and grandparents.  There were horses to ride, a donkey, cows to chase, snakes to avoid, a small lake to fish in, a huge garden of vegetables to pick, an antique store where people could look, but not touch or buy anything, snakes to avoid, 80 acres of land to explore, Saturday family game night, huge delicious meals, did I mention that there were snakes, and, of course…Sunday morning church.  

These are the types of memories that I want my own grandchildren to have of their great grandparents and grandparents.  Not that any of us have an 80 acre farm to explore…although we have seen a snake or two at my parents, it really isn’t about the where, it is about the who.  My memories of the times in Poplar Bluff are sweet because of the people involved, yes the amenities were wonderful, but they would not have meant anything if the people weren’t loving, kind and fun to be around.

I make a point to be intentional with these visits to my parents.  I ask my daughter and son-in-law if I can take the kids for a visit, I don’t wait for my daughter to ask me to watch them.  My grandchildren know that their great grandparents and grandparents actively seek to spend time with them.  And just like I got to spend Sunday morning in church with my grandparents, during our weekend visits, this weekend we received an added blessing to our visit, my mom asked if she could attend church with us.  I think the thought came to her while we were watching a movie together with the kids, last night.

We were watching, “Megamind”, I don’t know if you have seen it or not, but it kind of has a redemptive story-line.  As we were watching the movie, Megamind was reflecting back on all the wrong he had done in his life and he just didn’t think he could overcome any of it and become the “good” guy.  At one point he says, “I’m the bad guy. I don’t save the day. I don’t fly off into the sunset and I don’t get the girl. I’m going home. ”  I actually stopped the movie at this part and asked the kids a couple of questions, “Is Megamind right, should he just give up?  He seems to want to change, is there a way for him to change?  What does he need to do?”  And in one voice the answer came, “He needs to tell Jesus he is sorry and ask to be forgiven!”  My mom and I just looked at each other and beamed!!!   It was then she asked to go to church with us.  

And what was the message we heard in church this morning?  How important it is for the older generations to speak the gospel into the lives of the younger generations!!!  Isn’t our God amazing???

Dear Lord,

Thank You for blessing my life with godly great grandparents, godly grandparents and godly parents.  Help me to remember the lessons I learned from watching their examples to be a godly example to my children and my grandchildren.  I want to invite you into my relationship with my grandchildren, may Your light shine through each one of us and may You become the center of all we do and say.  May I pray for them continually to have a knowledge and love for God, to perceive their worth and to affirm God’s calling on their lives.  Help me to listen to them any time they want to talk and to not always be ready with a solution.  I want to gently offer counsel that is wise and is encouraging to them in their faith and character development.  Help me to always love them unconditionally and to remember that You have gifted them to us and You love them far more than anyone on earth ever could.  In the Name of Jesus, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

