Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 19, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 17 – Works & Greater Works

30 Days of Prayer: God’s Amazing Promises 

Day 19: Great Results of Faith

“Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.” John 14:12-14

John 14_12-14

So many people today in ministry are taking these verses out of context and are putting this spin on them; “When your goals are aligned with God’s goodness, anything you ask for in the name of Christ will be given to you.”  While I believe that my goals need to be aligned with God’s goodness, I also know that God is sovereign and the must important ingredient in anything I am requesting is His will for the situation.

Let’s read John 14 in its’ entirety, so that we can keep these verses in their proper context…

John 14 (New International Reader’s Version)

In order to understand these verses and what Jesus truly is promising you, you need to identify the meaning of “works” and “greater works”.  Jesus’ works while on this earth were to bring people into a belief and faith in Him as God incarnate.  What Jesus did here on earth bears witness to the fact that He came from God and that He is one with the Father.  First let’s concentrate on the word because in today’s scripture.

In its’ Greek form, dia, the word “because” is used in a casual sense, Strong’s Concordance states this:

dia: through, on account of, because of

Original Word: διά

Part of Speech: Preposition

Transliteration: dia

Phonetic Spelling: (dee-ah’)

Short Definition: through, on account of

Definition: (a) gen: through, throughout, by the instrumentality of, (b) acc: through, on account of, by reason of, for the sake of, because of.

Jesus is saying that “because” of the cross and ascension we would be able to do greater works.  What exactly happened through the death and rising of Jesus?  It causes conversions of the people!!!  It brings the spiritually dead to being spiritually alive!

This is the meaning of “greater works” that Jesus is speaking to.

The purpose of “works” and “greater works” is to bring people into faith with Christ; this Bible verse is not promising to bring you everything you ask for in the way of prosperity and health.  There is a much greater promise in this verse than that, it is a promise that you and I can stand upon as we commit to praying for the unsaved in this world.

The connection between works and coming to faith is strong in John, so let’s meditate on the verses below and reflect on how and with whom you and I can do “greater works” to the glory of God’s Holy name.

John 5:19-21:  “Jesus therefore answered and was saying to them, ‘Truly, truly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, unless it is something He sees the Father doing; for whatever the Father does, these things the Son also does in like manner. For the Father loves the Son, and shows Him all things that He Himself is doing; and greater works than these will He show Him, that you may marvel. For just as the Father raises the dead and gives them life, even so the Son also gives life to whom He wishes.”

“Truly, truly, I say to you, he who hears My word, and believes Him who sent Me, has eternal life, and does not come into judgment, but has passed out of death into life. Truly, truly, I say to you, an hour is coming and now is, when the dead shall hear the voice of the Son of God; and those who hear shall live” (John 5:24,25).

“They said therefore to Him, ‘What shall we do, that we may work the works of God?’ Jesus answered and said to them, ‘This is the work of God, that you believe in Him whom He has sent’” (John 6:28,29) 

I want to share one more little bit of insight, brought to me through today’s quiet time, before I close this in prayer.  When we pray “In the Name of Jesus” we are magnifying His name and giving Him the glory for what we are praying about.

Dear Lord,

Thank You for once again meeting me in my time of quiet and speaking into my life.  Thank You for breathing life into my spiritually dead body.  Thank You for loving me and, for loving more than me, those people I love who are lost.  Help me to use my messes to bring Your message.  Help me to testify to Your greatness through my words and my deeds.  May my works and greater works bring honor and glory to Your name.  May I become lesser as You become greater!  In the name of Jesus, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

