Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 18, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 16 – I Don’t Want to Forget to Remember You!

It is day 2 in the Summer Psalms Adventure and last night I read through Psalms 6 – 10, before I went to bed.  I also posted into the workbook the scriptures that had the most impact on me as I read.  There are many verses in the Psalms that, of course, remind me of the worship music I listen to every day!

“Turn, LORD, and deliver me; save me because of your unfailing love.” Psalms 6:4

Song –  Unfailing Love

“God, you always do what is right.
    You look deep down inside the hearts and minds of people.
Bring to an end the terrible things sinful people do.
    Make godly people safe.” Psalms 7:9 

Song – Make the Just Secure

Lord, our Lord,
    how majestic is your name in the whole earth! Psalms 8:1

Song –  How Majestic Is Your Name

Lord, I will praise you with all my heart.
    I will tell about all of the miracles you have done. Psalms 9:1

Song – I Will Give Thanks to You, Lord

But the verse from all five of today’s chapters that stuck with me the most and went to bed with me last night and woke up with me this morning is found in Psalms 9.

“You have punished the nations. You have destroyed evil people.
    You have erased their names from your book for ever and ever.
The enemy has been destroyed forever.
    You have leveled their cities to the ground.
    Even the memory of them is gone.” Psalms 9:5-6

Those are some powerful words!  They should strike fear in the hearts of believer’s and non believer’s alike.  I know that this is the first time that I have actual confirmation of something that was said to me by a non-believing friend, several years back.

It was during the time that I re-committed my life to Christ in 2009.  I was testifying to my friend and reminding her of how terribly I used to deal with crisis in my life.  How I would literally fall apart at the seams!  As I shared about how God was working in and through my life, we began to discuss heaven and hell.  I told her that one of the most difficult things for me is the knowledge that there are people in my life that I love very much, who, as of right now, will not be in heaven with me.  I said that I cannot fathom a place without them or being happy anywhere that they are not.

She looked me in the eyes and said these words that could only have come from God, “I think that your God will erase those people from your memory.  You will not remember them.”

I actually got goosebumps when I heard those words.  It was a defining moment of my life too.  It is my daily motivation to pray for the ones in my life that I don’t want to forget to remember.

Are there people in your life that you don’t want to forget to remember?  Let’s purpose together to pray for them every day!  We have to be intentional about this and we have to be committed.  I will pray for your loved ones, while I am praying for mine.  If you would like me to pray in agreement with you for a lost family member or friend…just simply type “yes” in the comment section for this post. And this post is my “yes” that I need prayers for the people I do not want God to erase from my heart.

As a way to help us all get started in this commitment, I found this awesome prayer on-line that provides guidance and scripture to pray over our loved ones.

Verbal Confession of Faith for God’s help to save loved one: (You say the name of your loved one and when you pray this for someone whose name you do not know…pray “God is not willing for the people in Patti’s life to perish, but that they come to repentance.”  And, please don’t just pray for the people in my life.  If you see someone else post “yes”, pray for them too, and let them know you are praying by liking their comment).

  • God is not willing that this person (name the person) perish, but that he or she comes to repentance – 2 Peter 3:9.
  • It is God’s will that he or she (name the person) be saved and comes to a knowledge of truth – 1 Timothy 2:4.
  • This is the confidence that I have in Him, that if I ask anything according to His will, He hears me. And I know that if He hears me, whatever I ask, I know that I have the petitions that I have asked of Him. I ask for him or her (name the person) to be saved, to come to repentance, and to come to a knowledge of the truth that can set him or her free – 1 John 5:14,15.
  • If it is a relative: I believe that I and all of my household will be saved – Acts 16:31.
  • I realize that I am not in a battle with flesh and blood, but I am contending against demonic powers, wicked spirits in the heavenly sphere, who are trying to influence and control the person I am praying for – Ephesians 6:12. Jesus said in Luke 10:19, “I give you authority and power over all the power of the enemy” and so nothing shall in any way harm me.

Whatever I bind on earth is bound in the heavenly realm, and whatever I loose on earth is loosed in the heavenly realm – Matthew 18:18.

Binding prayer (2 Corinthians 4:3,4): 

Say, “Right now I bind the god of this world (Satan) who has blinded their eyes to the truth of the gospel, and I loose the light of the gospel to shine on them and open their eyes. You spirit operating in the life of my loved one, blinding __(name)___ to the gospel to keep __(name)____ out of the kingdom of God, I bind you now. I belong to the Lord Jesus Christ. I carry His authority and righteousness and in His Name, I command you to desist in your maneuvers. I spoil your house according to the Word of God and I enter into it to deliver my loved one from your hands.”

  • I pray that the eyes of their understanding would be opened to know the hope of their calling – Ephesians 1:18.
  • Lord, open their eyes to know You; open their understanding that they can understand the scriptures – Luke 24:31,45.
  • I pray for laborers to be sent into their path from the Lord of the harvest – Matthew 9:37,38.
  • I believe that I receive the answers to these scriptural prayers – Mark 11:24.
  • Lord, You watch over Your Word to perform it – Jeremiah 1:12.
  • Thank You that Your Word does not return to You void, but it accomplishes what You intend for it to do – Isaiah 55:11.

I ask all this, Father God, in the holy name of Jesus. And I cover myself, my household, all my family, extended family, and all loved ones with the blood of Jesus, asking you to bless and strengthen us with your wisdom, Holy Spirit, salvation, and deliverance. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

