Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 17, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 15 – Prayer

I believe that I have shared with you all before that sometimes God seems to bring me theme days, I think that right now I am on a theme summer.  Every once in a while He makes it very obvious where He wants me to focus my energies and I just feel, strongly, that He wants me concentrating on my prayer life.

I began a 30-day challenge through the book of Psalms with Gwen Smith today and part of each day’s assignment is to write out a prayer for each of the five chapters in our daily reading assignment.  At the end of this 30-day journey I am going to have a total of 150 prayers recorded in my work-book.  How exciting is that???!!!!

I have determined within myself that, as I read my daily assignment, I am going to take God at His word…Jeremiah 33:3;

‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.’

DSCN2023

God has made a promise to me in this verse, all I have to do is pray to Him and He will answer me and show me grand and powerful things that I do not know.  I am ready for some godly wisdom and understanding in my life that is going to, hopefully, overflow into my prayer life!

Father God;

This generation does have a thirst for knowledge, but the knowledge they seek seems to be more earthly than heavenly.  While higher education is important, it is only through godly wisdom and biblical understanding that I can truly discern what philosophies, principles, traditions and practices I should stand for or against, in my daily walk on this earth.  Lord, use Your Word, today, to increase my understanding of the ever-changing knowledge in this world and help me to carefully build my foundation and the foundation of my family upon You, the unchanging Solid Rock. I know that any other foundation will sink when the rain falls, the streams rise, and the assaulting winds blow and beat against that which I have worked so hard to build.  I choose to love You and have a healthy fear of going against Your prescribed will for my life.  I am calling out to You Lord, reveal to me those great and mighty things that I need to know to stand firm! In Jesus Name I pray, Amen.

I just finished reading Psalms 1 – 5 (NIV) and OH, the Lord met me in that place.  I shared that I am claiming Jeremiah 33:3 for the next 30 days and what did I find in the first 5 chapters of Psalms?????  I found these scriptures that affirm, to me, that I am traveling the path that He has set for me.

Ask me, and I will give the nations to you. Psalm 2:8 

I call out to the Lord. He answers me from his holy hill. Psalm 3:4 

My faithful God, answer me when I call out to you.  Give me rest from my trouble.  Show me your favor. Hear my prayer. Psalm 4:1 

Lord, listen to my words.  Pay attention when I sigh.  My King and my God, listen to me when I cry for help.  I pray to you.  Lord, in the morning you hear my voice.  In the morning I pray to you.  I wait for you in hope. Psalms 5:1-3

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

