Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 12, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 10 – The Faith Pillar

Faith /fāTH/

Noun – Complete trust or confidence in someone or something.

Strong belief in God or in the doctrines of a religion, based on spiritual apprehension rather than proof.

Synonyms – belief – trust – confidence – credence – credit 

“Understand this: If a homeowner knew exactly when a burglar was coming, he would keep watch and not permit his house to be broken into.” Matthew 24:43

fAITH

Jesus is using this illustration to help us understand how important it is for us to guard His house (our body) from attacks, because we do not know when He is coming.  We don’t want to be conforming to the world on the very minute that Jesus comes back to earth in all His glory.  We don’t want to be breaking down, because of our burdens and sorrows, right when He descends to take us home with Him.

So how do we keep watch and prevent the burglar from coming into our house; invited or not????   It is through Who we are believing in and Who we are looking to for our answers.  Let’s face it friends, we are going to believe in something, we need to make sure that our belief and our faith is only resting on Jehovah!

The pillar that I am called to reflect upon today is the FAITH pillar.  My pillar of faith has to be built upon God’s Word not the ever-changing whims within me and the people on this earth.

I have been reading and hearing stories this week about heart-breaking situations within families.  The deaths of parents within days of each other…the death of a husband and father who was suffering from cancer and then several days later this family lost another member of their family; one of this man’s sons passed away, this son left behind a wife and children of his own.

What happens to the faith pillars in the lives of all those who have been left behind in these families?  Is there even a faith pillar in their life?

I can say with certainty that there is a strong pillar of faith in the life of the wife who lost her husband and her son; but, in all honesty I have to ask, how much can that pillar withstand until that first crack appears?

I have to ask myself this question…“Is my faith strong enough to withstand this type of devastation in my own family?”

I don’t know, God has never tested me to this extent.

I do know this though…I know that I believe in God!  I know that through the messes in my own life and in the lives of my loved ones that God was with me through them all!  I know that I can have faith in the promises of God; found in His Word.  I know that He might bend me, but only I can break me!

He does not want to see me broken!  His desire for me is to meet Him face to face, with a faith that has made me whole and Holy in Him!

We do not know when or where or even how trouble is going to come to our doors, but we do know that trouble will come.

“I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 

Be alert; don’t let down your guard.  Stay in His word and keep your faith pillar strong by spending time with God daily; in praise, in prayer, and in pondering.

Praise Him in song and thanksgiving.

Pray continually.  Take everything to Him!

Ponder these things in your heart!

Know this, a burglar may be able to rob you of your possessions, but only you can allow the thief to rob you of your faith!!

How strong is your faith pillar?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

