Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 6, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 4

1“I am the true grapevine, and my Father is the gardener. 2 He cuts off every branch of mine that doesn’t produce fruit, and he prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more.” John 15:1-2

John 15_1-2

I can have a critical spirit!

Oh, I want to hide and get those words out of my head!  But, alas, I am unable to run from these words that are bouncing around in my brain right now.  It is confrontation and conviction time for me.

It is time to work on me!  The busy life I have been living lately has quite effectively blocked out anything that I have not wanted to hear.

God sees all there is to see about us…the good, the bad, the beautiful and the ugly!  He knows it and He is going to deal with it all, in His way and in His timing.  I know that, at times, I can have a critical spirit.  That is not easy for me to admit…I would rather put a different spin on this confession, but that would not be honest.

What does it mean to have a critical spirit?

“Inclined to find fault, or to judge with severity!” 

This one is difficult and it is not going to be an easy fix or even something that I can write about today, and then tomorrow I am healed.  This is something that I have to really reflect on and talk to God about.

“Lord God, would you open my eyes to see myself soberly? And then to know your love more intimately?  Help me to look at myself and let You do a work in me.  I know that it is time for some pruning in my life, Lord.  You have to remove the bad branches from my life in order for the good fruit to be seen.  In the name of Jesus I pray, Amen.”

God wants me to have a CARING SPIRIT…not a critical one!

So whats the difference.  I found an answer on-line.

  • A Critical Spirit: Condemns the person as well as the action 
    A Caring Spirit: Condemns the action not the person 
    “Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.”? (Proverbs 12:18)
  • A Critical Spirit: Focuses on the faults of others 
    A Caring Spirit: Focuses on self-examination 
    “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?” (Luke 6:41)
  • A Critical Spirit: Ridicules others 
    A Caring Spirit: Refrains from ridiculing others 
    “A man who lacks judgment derides his neighbor, but a man of understanding holds his tongue.” (Proverbs 11:12)
  • A Critical Spirit: Makes judgments based on appearances 
    A Caring Spirit: Makes judgments based on the right facts 
    “Stop judging by mere appearances, and make a right judgment.” (John 7:24)
  • A Critical Spirit: Assumes the worst without first hearing from the accused 
    A Caring Spirit: Assumes the best while waiting to hear from the accused 
    “Does our law condemn anyone without first hearing him to find out what he is doing?” (John 7:51)
  • A Critical Spirit: Tears others down without seeing the unmet needs 
    A Caring Spirit: Builds others up according to their the needs 
    “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” (Ephesians 4:29)
  • A Critical Spirit: Confronts others publicly 
    A Caring Spirit: Confronts others privately 
    “If your brother sins against you, go and show him his fault, just between the two of you. If he listens to you, you have won your brother over.” (Matthew 18:15)
  • A Critical Spirit: Responds harshly when accused by others 
    A Caring Spirit: Responds appreciatively without quarreling when others give advice 
    “Pride only breeds quarrels, but wisdom is found in those who take advice.” (Proverbs 13:10)
  • A Critical Spirit: Lacks mercy toward others 
    A Caring Spirit: Responds with mercy toward others 
    “Speak and act as those who are going to be judged by the law that gives freedom, because judgment without mercy will be shown to anyone who has not been merciful. Mercy triumphs over judgment!” (James 2:12-13)

9 Differences Between a Critical Spirit and a Caring Spirit

 “People don’t care how much you know, until they know how much you care.” Unknown

Responses

  1. So good! So True! Shandra

  2. Words, how they can speak to our hearts. Change is good. Love covers all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

