Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 5, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 3

Some words that I have been meditating on today…

“Part of the fall of man is a predisposition to focus on the negative, and let’s be real, there’s plenty of that to go around. One bad minute can ruin your whole day. But what would it look like if we collected all the good and see how it outweighs the bad? Just the little things. If you need inspiration, think of the fictional Maria from Sound of Music. When trying to cheer up the frightened von Tramp children during a storm, she sings about her favorite things that include rain drops on roses and warm woolen mittens. It’s cheesy as musicals are supposed to be, but the point of the song is finding joy in simplicity. 

Everything is a gift from God, and knowing that He loves us this much leads us to nothing less than gratitude and deep devotion.”  Praise.com devotion

http://praise.com/devotions/everything-gift?utm_source=Praise+Music+Master+List&utm_campaign=7bb76fb8c7-EmailDevotional&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_1d8c08f5ed-7bb76fb8c7-10394173

read› 2 Samuel 21:15-22

“Abishai’s actions can inspire us to look past all that is going on around us as we help our comrades. When life gets hectic and demands are assaulting us from every angle, busyness may test our loyalties. Will we be faithful to the things that occupy our time, or to the people who matter the most?”

http://www.godtube.com/devotionals/our-daily-journey/daily-devotional-june-5-2013-friends-in-the-fray.html%20/?utm_source=GodTube%20Today&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=06/05/2013

 

“All the selfish gesticulations of the heart come to a screeching halt when we enter into true worship. The heart is no longer susceptible to temptation because it is lost in the glory of an all-consuming God, “caught up in the rapture of love.” And when we are truly in love, we want only what our lover wants.” – Michelle McKinney Hammond

 

 Musings from Moore (Women of Faith)

Wednesday, June 5, 2013 by Cyndi Beam 

I was physically SHAKEN…before I was spiritually STIRRED.

I was DOWN for a while…but then I climbed OUT.

I am DISPLACED…but by no means am I HOMELESS. 

My HOUSE is in ruin…but my HOME is stunningly gorgeous. 

At no point during the storm did I fear for my LIFE…but for the first time in years, I’m truly ready to LIVE. 

Jesus was BRUISED for my iniquities and CRUSHED for my sins…but I came out without a SCRATCH. 

Some will say a half-inch thick sheet of METAL and a strong supporting FRAME saved my life…while I don’t doubt the mechanics of my storm SHELTER, I am also positive that GOD had His finger on the HANDLE. 

While some wish they had been BURIED in the rubble, God has given me a CLEAN SLATE.

Insurance takes care of STUFF. God takes care of PEOPLE. And in times like this, we take care of EACH OTHER. 

“For it is by GRACE I have been saved through FAITH, and that not of myself. It is a GIFT from GOD.” 

I’m learning the difference between a problem and an inconvenience. Waiting in long lines of traffic and having to show my drivers’ license to enter my neighborhood was no fun. Having to replace my prescription medicine was a bother. Going car shopping is never a joy. 

From the moment I came out of my storm shelter, or within a few more hours at least, many, many people who lost loved ones or suffered personal injury in the storm had a problem. I lost my house and most of its contents, but I’m learning this is an inconvenience. It’s a MAJOR inconvenience. However, God’s got me, so right now, I have no problems. Just a very long to-do list. 

Amen?

 

 Thoughts

I could feel God speaking to me through each of the quotations I shared with you above.  There is a theme running through each of my days since this sabbatical started and that is to remember who and what is important in my life here on earth.  Prioritize my time and make sure that I am taking care of who and what God has placed into each of one of my days.  Busyness is not a good thing when the people and things that are supposed to be a part of my “Divine Appointments” are ignored or lost in the shuffle.

I have been quieter and more attuned to what He has planned for my day.  One thing that has been heavy on my heart is that since my grandchildren started summer school, we have not had our morning devotional time.  I asked my daughter today if she would ask the kids if we they would like to read the Jesus Calling Devotion with me over the phone each night, before they go to bed.  There is an added benefit to this devotion time…Mom and Dad would be a part of it too!!!  I want them to be able to watch their children reading the devotions, looking up the Bible verses and then praying about what we have read.  I pray that tomorrow’s praise report will be about the time I spent on the phone with my grandkids.

Here is my praise report for today…

I am changing to a new cell phone provider and will have unlimited calling minutes through this new provider…woo hoo!!!  This means that I can reinstate the conference calls that we used to have.  I love hearing your voices and talking and praying together.  I would love to schedule a call within the next week…I am looking forward to hearing your sweet voices!!  Who knows we might even break out in some praise and worship singing!!!  Helena…are you ready to lead praise and worship over the phone?  Mary Lynn get that piano tuned and ready!!!

Here is a song to get you in the Praise and Worship state of mind….

 

Okay, friends it is time to start fixing dinner.  I will talk to you all tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

