Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 4, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 2

Thank you all for your understanding and love as I take this time off.  I have received many messages of support and encouragement…thank you for that and for praying for me.

I have to personally thank Mary Lynn for sharing an article with me called, “Sanctification”.  As I read this article…it is not an easy, breezy read…I realized just how important this sabbatical is for my walk with the Lord.  I will be meditating on this article and the verses it shares throughout the next 30 days…I printed it out and it is already pink with highlights!!!

“God wants to make us more holy like Himself. He wants to transform us into the express image of His Son Jesus Christ. He wants to consecrate and set us apart unto Himself.”

Read more: http://www.bible-knowledge.com/sanctification-article/#ixzz2VFPe55Wf

“One of the verses will tell us that God wants to sanctify us completely in all three parts of our being – body, soul, and spirit. Jesus Himself tells us that He wants us to be perfect just like His Father in heaven is perfect.”

“The Bible tells us that all men and women have sinned and have fallen way short of the glory of God. We are so far from the perfection that God is really wanting from each one of us, that we see no real way to be able to obtain it to any significant degree in this life. As a result, many Christians never ask or seek after God to get this sanctification process started in their life – and as a result, there is very little, if any true spiritual growth over the course of most of their lives.”

I wanted to share a little of what is contained in this article, as well as the link…these words are true and while we have accepted two of the things that Jesus’ death on the cross has afforded to us; righteousness and redemption, we have rejected the third; the sanctification process.

I know in my heart of hearts that this is the holiness factor and it should never be missing from our lives.  It is what draws others to us and to wanting to know what we have that is lacking from their own lives.

I heard a song yesterday on the radio…it started playing as soon as I got in my car and I know it was a message from God to me about what I am feeling right now.

And then last night as I went to sleep I heard this song from Colton Dixon…I had not heard this one before last night.  A message of hope…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJJ30nEIUDY

Music is the window to the soul and it helps me to begin the healing process.  I am so thankful that God created music and that we have so many Christian Artists who want to share their time and their talent with us!!!

 

I just want to share a couple of more things with you all before I end this and post it to my blog.

I want to share a devotion I read this morning…

 

Leaving a Margin

June 4th, 2013 Gail Rodgers 

“The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.” (Proverbs 14:1) 

389501_10150511926171164_363929866163_11438074_1277096857_n

She quietly shared that life just seemed to be fraying around the edges, especially in her home. As we talked it was clear that the frenzied pace she kept was taking a toll on her home. “I love to be busy” she said. Yet the fruit of that busyness was not the fruit she desired for her home and family. 

When we live at a pace that continually drains us we end up taking it out on those closest to us. Complaining, frustration and lack of patience can surface all too often. As women we can actually be tearing down relationships by our own hand and not even be aware we are doing so. A wise woman will take note of her reactions and make a choice to be a builder. 

If your quiet time with God has slipped by the wayside of your life it won’t be long before you notice the tell-tale reactions of complaining, negativity and frustration in your life and relationships. 

Ask God to help you keep some margin in your life so you are not running to the max all the time. Learn to choose your time investments carefully. 

Ask God to come in a fresh way into your life to help you make time with Him a priority. Choose to make some changes in your schedule so God can make some changes in your heart. Invite His Holy Spirit to be the change agent in your life today. Ask for what the Bible calls the fruit of the Holy Spirit. (Galatians 5:22) It’s “The Great Exchange.” He will help you build your relationships. You can depend on God to be your source for all your needs. 

  • Exchange your weakness for His strength.
  • Exchange your unsatisfied heart for His joy.
  • Exchange your annoyance with His love.
  • Exchange your anxiety with His peace.
  • Exchange your impatience for His patience.
  • Exchange your complaining for His contentment.
  • Exchange your harsh attitude for His gentleness.

Father in Heaven, Today I ask that You would forgive me for foolishly reacting in ways that can tear my relationships down. Fill me afresh today with the fruit of Your Holy Spirit. May I be a wise woman filled with the wisdom and revelation that Your Spirit offers me. Help me to choose my activities carefully and to leave some margin in my life for rest. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

 

I will be working on some exchanging over the next 30 days!!!  Do you have anything that you need to exchange for one of God’s greater gifts??

I also have a praise report.  My phone rang this afternoon and it was my husband, he wanted to know if I had been at Wal-mart recently.  I said that I had just left there, “How did you know?”  He said Shawn had told him!  “Shawn?  Who is Shawn?” I asked.  It appears Shawn works at one of the branches of our bank and some Good Samaritan walked into this bank and handed Shawn my debit card, which she found in the parking lot at Wal-mart.  So thankful to the Lord that He was watching over me and for the honest person He showed my card to.

I miss you all!  Praying for you too!

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

