Posted by: heisourstrongtower | June 3, 2013

Sabbatical – Day 1

Even though I feel I am doing the right thing by taking this time off…I am hearing a voice in my head telling me how selfish I am and how I made a commitment to post and share.  I need to get into the word this morning and see what God is saying to me.

Peter 1:15-16: “But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: ‘Be holy, because I am holy.’” 

Ouch and ouch again!!!  “Be holy in all you do!!!”  I am definitely missing the mark in the holiness department, right now.  This is no longer a labor of love for me…it is just labor!  I want to bring the holiness back into what I am sharing, I want all that I say and do to be about bringing glory to God.

This morning on my drive down to my daughters I was listening to Joy FM and Sandy shared something that really resonated in me and gave me something to say back to what I was hearing from my “enerme” (enemy) voice…

“Right now I am storm-tossed. And what am I going to say? ‘Father, get me out of this’? No, this is why I came in the first place. I’ll say, ‘Father, put your glory on display.” John 12:27-28 

john12_27-28

I am going to pray that what I am going through right now will allow for God’s glory to be on display in my life.

I read a devotion today that was titled “Can I Get a Break?” The author was speaking about wanting a break from God… “I feel like a cancer patient who is constantly jabbed with needles, poked in places that I don’t want to be prodded, and examined to the infinite degree. It gets to the point where I just want a break for a time – a sabbatical from God, if you will. Could I just stay where I am for a while and not change?” 

Here I am yearning for that poking and prodding and being examined to an infinite degree and she wants to take a break from His correction and guidance.  Well, until she was reminded of a Bible verse… “A nap here, a nap there, a day off here, a day off there, sit back, take it easy—do you know what comes next? Just this: You can look forward to a dirt-poor life, with poverty as your permanent houseguest!” Proverbs 24:33-34 

I feel as if I have been walking in spiritual poverty over the last few months.  I was truly hoping that the time that I took off over Memorial Day weekend would have helped to revive me, and although that time with my grandchildren was precious and I will treasure it always, I did not come home transformed or anywhere near to the holiness that I need in all that I do.

And while I have not been napping the day away or really even taking any time off…I have been so busy “doing” that I have forgotten to just “be” in His presence.  I am not showing up…I am showing off.

Another thing that I read in the devotion, “Can I Get a Break?” was, “My child, you will never just stay where you are; you are either moving toward Me or away from Me.” 

I want to move toward Him, never away from Him!!!  I am going to be reading, studying, praying and being still in God’s presence over the next 30 days and I am going to be journaling my sabbatical from all the things I was allowing to get in between God and me.

I have some goals set for myself over the next month…

I am going to be moving in a direction of being more fully centered on God.

You yearn to serve Him in all things, at all times, to “live and move and have [your] being in Him” (Acts 17:28).

 

I am going to increase my awareness of what takes my focus off of God.

No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon.  (Matthew 6:24) 

I want to become “eager to serve” once again.

Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, watching over them—not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not pursuing dishonest gain, but eager to serve; (1 Peter 5:2)

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

