Posted by: heisourstrongtower | May 24, 2013

Who Are You Running This Race For?

One of the verses in today’s GIG devotional is speaking to me this morning and God asked me a question through this verse today…”Who are you running this race for?”

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God” (Hebrews 12:1-2).

111228_Hebrews12_1_2

He wants me to concentrate on “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses…”. He is wanting me to understand that I am surrounded by others who do not know Jesus and I just might be the only Bible that they are reading. I need to represent Him here on earth in all that I do and all that I say. 

And just in case I might have missed His point, for me, in this devotion…He had Gwen include my life verses Isaiah 40:28-31 which begins with these words…”Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth.” I won’t share the rest since Gwen has included a fill in the blank with these verses in today’s devotional. 

The point He is making with me is that I have to think about those who do not know Him or who do not understand who He is…they are my mission field and I have to keep, keeping on. 

We are all Jesus’ hands and feet here on this earth and we have to persevere to the end and not lose sight of our prize…not just for ourselves, but for the other people who do not know and are watching us for their answers.

Gwen’s point in this devotion was not about the great cloud of witnesses and that is what I have found throughout the readings found in “The Trusting God” devotionals…Mary, Sharon and Gwen would be writing about one thing and God would bring me a different perspective to meditate upon. And isn’t that the point of a good message from God!!! It can touch each of us where we are living and encourage us to finish the race with perseverance.

Running to Win

 


Leave a comment

Categories

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

WordPress.com News

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

Marie Isom.com

Connecting hearts to the riches in Christ

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.