Posted by: heisourstrongtower | May 19, 2013

Fit for My King – Day 5 Devotional Reflection

I don’t know about you, but I am not thrilled by the answers Sheri Rose said most women use for the question, “How are you doing?”

“I’ve discovered that whenever you ask a woman how she is doing, you will probably get one of four answers: “I’m so tired!” “I’m so bloated!” “I’m so sick!” or I’m s-o-o-o fat!”  Then we get together in a group while we’re munching on cakes, candy, coffee, and chips, and we talk on and on about how sick, tired, and fat we are!  What is wrong with this picture?”

I am going to admit that I was insulted…I took this personally!  I don’t believe that I answer this question, the majority of the time, with any of those four answers.  Do I??????

This statement gave me pause and it made me search my memory bank, and I believe that because I had negative feelings about what she wrote…there most be some truth to her words.  I don’t believe that I answer the question, “How are you doing?”, with one of those four answers on a consistent basis…I do know that I have answered that question with at least two of those answers.  “I’m so tired!” would come in first over “I’m s-o-o-o fat!”, for sure.

I do not want to be a negative person!  I don’t think it speaks well to my life as a Christian, if I am walking around complaining about how I am feeling.  That does not make me appear different from all the other people around me and to be an effective witness for others, I need to be set apart.  I need to have a demeanor that others are drawn to and want for themselves.

Just so you all know, worrying about food all day is not going to get me to that place that will draw others to me and, what Christ has done for me.  That is exactly where I am right now.  I worry about what I am eating and when I am going to be eating it…most of the day.

God has impressed upon me this morning that I need a plan.  Really, this all started last night during my pastor’s sermon on “Commitment!” Yep, you read that right…”What you are committed to…you will follow through!”  O-U-C-H!!!  My toes on being stepped on all over the place.  My pastor also said that committed people have a plan that will help them have success in their commitment.  It makes sense to me!

Over the last several days of this fast my commitment has not been strong and I believe that is because my focus has still been on me and my desire for less of a menopausal belly.  God has made it very clear to me this morning, what He wants my heart, mind, body, and soul focused on for the rest of this fast, and for the rest of my life.  It is all apart of His plan for me.  Here is His plan for me…

1. Find my commitment statement – “I want others to know Christ is working in me and want Him to work in them too!”

2. Formulate a plan of action – 

     Daily, morning quiet time with God; focus on a scripture to use throughout the day to help me keep my focus on my commitment                           statement.

         Nightly, put together an eating schedule and prepare my meals and snack for the next day; write down what I am going to eat and at what time I am going to eat it.  This will take my focus off of the food.  I will know the decision has already been made and it is already prepared.  This will also include the added benefit of saving me time during my day while watching my four grandchildren.

This is what God has revealed to me about His plan for me…to date.  I know that as I move forward from this, God will bring me more and as He shares it with me, you know I will share it with you.

I would ask that you pray for me to stay firm on His foundation as I commit myself to following His plan!  I would love to pray for you too, no matter what your struggle is in life…let me know how I can pray for you too!

My verse for today…

 “By standing firm, you will win your souls.” Luke 21:19 (NLT)

Luke 21_19

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

