Posted by: heisourstrongtower | May 18, 2013

Chocolate Cake Confessional!

My nephew is in town this week and my mom had a family party for him at her home on Thursday evening.  He is a sous chef at a restaurant in Chicago and he prepared dinner for us.  Nothing fancy, just gourmet hamburgers, hot-dogs, home-made potato fries, corn-on-the-cob and my request, mashed cauliflower.  I remained in Him during this meal on Thursday night.  My family is aware of my fast and they help to keep me honest.  Even though my mom made her famous chocolate cake and our family’s absolutely favorite, of all time, chocolate pudding pie…I only allowed myself one bite.

That brings us to yesterday, Friday, my mom decided that she wanted to come to the house and bring left-overs for the grandchildren’s lunch, along with her cake.  I made it all through lunch time and the serving of the cake to the kids and my mom…no problem.  Sara came to pick up her children, noticed the cake was there and had a piece…which left a piece of cake still uneaten.

I have no one to blame, but me!!!  I am not able to justify or excuse…I wanted that last piece of cake!  I did not care in that moment and, even I was urged to post…”PRAY…there is chocolate cake in my house!”  Sara and the kids were gone, Peter and Keith were not home…no one would know, only me and God!  I was disobedient…I ate that last piece of cake!   Shortly after eating it…I started feeling sick to my stomach.  God gave me a tangible reminder for the future, when I am tempted, for walking away and leaving that cake untouched.

Then this morning He brought me His word!  Even stronger reminders of WHO I am doing this fast for…not me, but HE!

“Yes, I am the gate. Those who come in through me will be saved. They will come and go freely and will find good pastures. The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life. ” (John 10:9-10)

db_John-10_9_105

 

I did not enter into His gates and allow Him to save me from that cake.  I certainly did not find good pastures, after eating that cake!  I do know that the thief wants to rob me of that rich and satisfying life through Christ.  I need to find my satisfaction from HIM!!!  He will satisfy me!

 

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters.”  (Colossians 3:23)

colossians-323_2947_1024x768

Since I am working for Him, I need to remember to go to Him for my nourishment and allow Him to choose those things that I eat and don’t eat.  He told me to post that I needed prayer, He knew that I was tired and weak in the moment…God was very clear with me that I was not to eat that cake.  I was worshiping that cake instead of Him!  I let what I wanted for me, trump, what God wanted for me!

Question: How does God feed you in your times of need?

I am going to be using Sheri’s prayer from our day four devotional going forward from this Chocolate Cake Confessional, although I will be changing it up slightly.

Lord, Since you see what today holds for me I give You permission to convict me of the things I am doing that drain me and don’t bring glory to You.  Give me the wisdom on when to say YES when You want me to commit to the food I put in my mouth and the strength to say NO when I need to put the fork down.   Help me to walk out into the peace that comes from knowing that You have e in the palm of Your hand.  Thank You for knowing and wanting the best nourishment for me and my body.  Thank You for Your wisdom and Your grace!  In the Name of Jesus AMEN!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

