Posted by: heisourstrongtower | April 30, 2013

No Murmuring May – A 31-Day Challenge from S.W.A.P. Ministries

Mae Mae’s No Murmuring May

Or

(as it is more popularly known)

31 Days of No Murmuring May

 

I first want to share with you the link to all the information from S.W.A.P. Ministries…they are the ones who put this all together for our benefit.  To God goes the honor and the glory for all that S.W.A.P. has done to bring us all closer to our purpose on this earth.

http://www.swapministries.org/2013/04/31-days-of-no-murmuring-may.html

Calendar of daily verses is found below.

31 Days of No Murmuring May

I decided that I would look up the definition for the word “murmuring” and antonyms for the word “sigh”.  As I mentioned yesterday “sighing” is one of my downfalls…exasperated sighing!  To my amazement one of the antonyms for sigh is murmur.  So my exasperated sighing is already classified as murmuring…it is all covered in this one word.  I bet God already knew that…so, let’s define murmuring and sigh.

Murmuringa low continuous indistinct sound; often accompanied by movement of the lips without the production of articulate speech – doesn’t that sound attractive??!!!  No!  It doesn’t sound attractive to me either.  One very good reason to cease my murmuring!

– a complaint uttered in a low and indistinct tone 

Sigh breathe out heavily

Synonyms: blow, complain, cry, exhale, gasp, grieve, groan, howl, lament, moan, murmur, pant, respire, roar, sob, sorrow, sough, suspire, wheeze, whine 

None of these words or descriptions sound attractive, nor do they sound like words that would be used to describe a Christian wife or mother; let alone a Christian women.

Let’s look at some verses that describe a woman of noble character…Proverbs 31:10-31

 

10 A wife of noble character who can find?

    She is worth far more than rubies.

11 Her husband has full confidence in her

    and lacks nothing of value.

12 She brings him good, not harm,

    all the days of her life.

13 She selects wool and flax

    and works with eager hands.

14 She is like the merchant ships,

    bringing her food from afar.

15 She gets up while it is still night;

    she provides food for her family

    and portions for her female servants.

16 She considers a field and buys it;

    out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.

17 She sets about her work vigorously;

    her arms are strong for her tasks.

18 She sees that her trading is profitable,

    and her lamp does not go out at night.

19 In her hand she holds the distaff

    and grasps the spindle with her fingers.

20 She opens her arms to the poor

    and extends her hands to the needy.

21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;

    for all of them are clothed in scarlet.

22 She makes coverings for her bed;

    she is clothed in fine linen and purple.

23 Her husband is respected at the city gate,

    where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.

24 She makes linen garments and sells them,

    and supplies the merchants with sashes.

25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;

    she can laugh at the days to come.

26 She speaks with wisdom,

    and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

27 She watches over the affairs of her household

    and does not eat the bread of idleness.

28 Her children arise and call her blessed;

    her husband also, and he praises her:

29 “Many women do noble things,

    but you surpass them all.”

30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;

    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

31 Honor her for all that her hands have done,

    and let her works bring her praise at the city gate. 

I know that one of these verses is going to be used during this study, but I am going to read this each and every morning during the month of May to put myself in the right mindset as I work on meeting this challenge.  The most important thing that I need to remember is that I am not working on meeting a 31-Day Challenge…I am working each day to meet a challenge that will last for 31 days.  I have to get through this…one day at a time and, probably in my case one hour at a time.

My personal challenge is to make to the end of each day without murmuring or sighing.  I will be using Proverbs 31:10-31, the verses that are shared each day, and prayer and praise to help me as I go through the day.

Songs to use during my morning devotionals to help during the next 31 Days.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5V8_k70KnI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqIA_l2ypkE

Prayers to help me over the next 31 Days

1.    Lord God, in Jesus name Help me to control my tongue. I still tend to say the wrong things at the wrong times. Not all the time, but enough to where I’m disappointed in myself and embarrassed at times and wonder why I said such stupid and ignorant things. I need special help from You Lord when it comes to controlling my tongue. All I can do now is ask forgiveness and thank You for Your mercy and Your grace. I really need the Holy Spirit to help me out here in what ever way He can. Thank You Lord, in Jesus name by the power of the Holy Spirit, Amen.

 

2.    Father, I commit to turn from idle words and foolishly talking things that are contrary to my true desire for myself and toward others. Your Word says that the tongue defiles, that it sets on fire the course of nature, that it is set on fire of hell. 

In the name of Jesus, I am determined to take control of my tongue.  

I am determined that hell will not set my tongue on fire. I renounce, reject and repent of every word that has ever proceeded out of my mouth against You, Lord, and Your operation. I cancel its power and dedicate my mouth to speak excellent things and right things. My mouth shall utter truth. 

Father, I attend to Your words; I consent and submit to Your sayings. I will not let them depart from my sight; I keep them in the center of my heart, for they are life to me and to those to whom I speak—healing and health to all our flesh. I keep and guard my heart with all vigilance and above all that I guard, for out of it flow the springs of life. I put away from me false and dishonest speech, and willful and contrary talk I put far from me. My eyes look right on [with fixed purpose], and my gaze is straight before me. I guard my mouth and my heart with all diligence. I refuse to give Satan any place in me. 

Father, Your words are top priority to me. They are spirit and life. I let Your Word dwell in me richly in all wisdom. Your ability is released within me by the words of my mouth; therefore, I speak forth Your words. They are alive and working in me because You are alive and working in me. So I can boldly say that my words are words of faith, words of power, words of love and words of life. They produce good things in my life and in the lives of others. Because I choose Your words for my lips, I choose Your will for my life, and I go forth in the power of those words to perform them in Jesus’ name. Amen.

 

3.    Dear Holy Spirit, My God. Teach me to speak wisely. Let me avoid useless thoughts and useless conversations. Help me to speak often for You. Grant that my words may never hurt men/women of goodwill. May My words always bring consolation to those in sorrow and guidance to those in need. Take my lips and make them Yours. Take possession of my mind and make it an instrument of Your goodness and a channel of truth. I hope to become a man/woman of silence, who prefers to talk to God then to men. In my human conversation, may I always bring them closer to You and You closer to them. I ask this through Christ Our Lord. Amen

 

4.    O Lord, keep me from getting talkative, particularly from the fatal habit that I must say something on every subject on every occasion.  Release me from the craving to straighten out everybody’s affairs.  Keep my mind free from the recital of endless details; give me wings to get to the point. Seal my lips when inclined to tell of my aches and pains. They are increasing with the years and my love of rehearing them grows sweeter as the years go by.  Teach me the glorious lesson that occasionally it is possible that I may be mistaken.  Keep me reasonably sweet. I do not want to be a saint. Some of them are hard to live with, but a sour old woman is one of the crowning works of the devil.  Help me to extract all possible fun out of life. There are so many funny things around us, and I do not want to miss any of them.  Make me thoughtful and not moody, helpful but not bossy. With my vast store of wisdom, it seems a pity to not to use it all, but Thou, my Lord, knoweth that I want a few friends left at the end. So help me to keep my wayward thoughts and tongue to myself. In Jesus Name, Amen

SERVICES-0017

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

