Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 27, 2013

I Believe that God Defines Marriage

God defines marriage

 

“You miss 100 percent of the shots you never take.” -Wayne Gretzky

“Are you letting your one word prompt you to think and behave differently – to take a shot toward becoming who you were made to be?”

The above quote and question was posted to the facebook page called, “My One Word”, today and I was inspired to write this post about my one word from last year.

To be honest it was not my only inspiration, other things that are going on in our country this week have also provided motivation for this post. To be specific…I believe that God defines marriage; not the government.

My One word last year was truth! I am called to walk in the truth and speak the truth, even when it is difficult and messy, and uncomfortable. Even when the words I speak might offend someone I love.

Did Jesus tiptoe around issues or did He speak the truth? Did Jesus worry about offending the Pharisee’s or did He speak the truth?

Jesus set the example that we are to follow. I am not going to apologize for following His example. I am not going to apologize for speaking the truth!

Jesus died on the cross so that we might have life! Jesus knew that He was the way, the TRUTH and the life, and that our only way to the Father was through Him. (John 14:6)

Jesus did not die to save governments! Jesus died to save sinners! He does not love sin; He died for our sins, because Jesus loves the sinner!

But don’t be fooled, Jesus will only die once for our sins! The next death is on us!

Prayerfully consider this perspective…”I believe that we are going to be held responsible, by God, for those words that we have spoken and for those words that we did NOT speak.”

I don’t want anyone’s blood on my hands because I decided to remain silent. If one life can be saved because I refuse to remain silent…then I have to speak up. How about you? Isn’t it better to speak up and share a godly perspective, than remain silent, and run the risk that someone is going to interpret your silence as approval of the sin?

Here is a link to a post on The Gospel Coalition that speaks to the marriage equality question and the reasons we should not remain silent on this issue…better than my meager attempt here.

When Did Idolatry Become Compatible with Christianity?

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

