Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 16, 2013

God is on the Throne!

jeremiah_9.23-24_picture

Jeremiah 9:23-24 

Thus says the Lord: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the Lord.”

 

I am seeing this verse being played out within my mother’s life right now.  My mother has always been a very proud women; she is 83 years old and, up to this week, has never had any significant health issues.  The last time she spent the night in the hospital was 1963 when she gave birth to my younger brother.

My mother is also a very articulate, intelligent woman.  She is never at a loss for words or how to express herself eloquently.  Up until this last Monday she was still working for a tax accountant, twice a week during tax season, preparing income tax returns.

Oh and golf, did I mention to you that my mother is a golfer?  She took up the sport in her early 40’s and has played every year since.

She has accomplished much in her 83 years and she has every right to be proud of herself, except when we consider the verse above.

All that she is and all that she has accomplished are gifts from God, and I know that my mother, who I love and admire greatly, has been prone to boast in her wisdom, in her might and in her riches…taking credit for God’s work and blessings in her life.

I have watched God allow each of these sources of pride to be taken from my mother this week through her illness!

She suffered a TIA (A transient ischemic attack (TIA) is when blood flow to a part of the brain stops for a brief period of time), on Monday this week.  She has also been diagnosed with Atrial fibrillation (AFib), the cause of the blood clot that triggered the TIA.

It has not been easy to watch the frustration come over her face as she struggles to finish a sentence or find a word.  It has not been easy to watch her lip quiver, as she struggles to hold back the tears that she refuses to cry!  It has not been easy, period!

BUT, GOD!

God is in the middle of this situation!  There are so many things to praise Him for during this time!  She can walk just fine, her gross motor skills are fine, she can even talk…it is just not as easy for her!  I can even praise the Lord for her confusion/fogginess!!!  I know that He has allowed this illness into her life to bring her back into a closer relationship with Him.

God is sovereign over our lives and we need to remember that we can’t sit on His throne, unless…we are sitting on His lap!

I am sharing this with you for several reasons!

1. Please pray for my mother, as we begin the recovery process.

2. Please pray that my mother totally surrender her life to God, again… and place Him back on the throne.

3. Please pray for my dad…he is not the best care-taker!  It is his turn though!  He needs to be as supportive of her as she was of him throughout his health issues.

4. Please pray for our family, as we consider our options, and make decisions and changes, according to God’s will for my parents.

5. We are in the middle of the New Testament Reading, and I am more tired than I realized.  Last night I scheduled day 45’s assignment to post with day 44!  I am going to be praying throughout the day to seek God’s will for me, right now.  My concentration may be needed elsewhere…my next steps will be guided by Him.

I will keep you all up-to-date, as I am able.  Your prayers are appreciated!!!

Responses

  1. You have a lot on your plate, Patti… Don’t forget your needs during all this… You can’t do anything to help your Mother if don’t take care of yourself…

    Father, I come to you on behalf of my friend and her parents. I am asking that you will calm her Mother’s fears during this scary time – it isn’t easy being the person that suddenly needs taken care of when she is so used to being strong and independent. Be with the doctors that are over her care. I ask that you give them and all the medical staff, the knowledge and compassion to care for her in a way that will be pleasing and acceptable – to everyone. Some times medical staff forget how scared the patient and their families can be because of a family member’s being in a hospital when they have never required a doctor’s care before. Calm their fears, Father and allow them to feel Your presence with them. Life sometimes just doesn’t make sense but we know that you are in charge of this. We trust you and turn this over to your will. Does this mean we won’t worry… probably not… it just means that we are trusting you to know what is best. Thank You, Father, for hearing our prayers and for the way you love us… Amen

    • Wilma,
      She has come so far over the past two days, GOD is on the throne for sure! Very little confusion today, she is so much better today. I believe she will be allowed to go home tomorrow. Thank you so much for this beautiful prayer and for being there to talk to me.

  2. Patti know that I will keep you and your family in my prayers!!Keep strong God gives us no more than we can bear.

    • Thank you Patricia, that means so much to me. She is doing so much better and I am so thankful to all of those who have prayed for her.


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

