Posted by: heisourstrongtower | March 11, 2013

THE NEW TESTAMENT 93-DAY CHRONOLOGICAL READING PLAN – Day 39 Assignment

Moments with God
New Testament Bible Reading Plan
Day 39

“Keep me from lying to myself;
give me the privilege of knowing your instructions.
I have chosen to be faithful;
I have determined to live by your regulations.
I cling to your laws.
Lord, don’t let me be put to shame!” Psalm 119:29-31

“Keep me from lying to myself!” WOW!!! I think this is really important.  How easy do we find it to lie to ourselves? I think we can find it pretty easy, when we stay away from God and His Word.  I believe the word I want to use here is avoidance.  When I have not followed God’s instructions to me, sinned, I can compound the problem by avoiding Him.  

I have also learned that avoidance is futile when it comes to a all-knowing God.  We need to face the situation and, God, head-on.   I believe the only way we can keep from lying to ourselves is to spend time with God, in prayer and in His word.  When we determine to live faithfully, God will keep us on the straight path; He will not put us to shame.  

Today’s Reading Assignment – Matthew 25

Study Questions for Matthew 25

The Parable of the Ten Virgins

“But while they were gone to buy oil, the bridegroom came. Then those who were ready went in with him to the marriage feast, and the door was locked. Later, when the other five bridesmaids returned, they stood outside, calling, ‘Lord! Lord! Open the door for us!’ Matthew 25:10-11

What was Jesus using this parable to describe? For whom were the virgins waiting? Who do they represent? Who is the bridegroom? Why were five virgins called foolish and five called wise?

What happened while they were waiting? (5-6) What was the dilemma of the foolish virgins, and what did they do? (7-10a) When did the bridegroom arrive?

What privilege did the wise virgins have? (10b) Why? What did the others do? What did the bridegroom say to them?

How could the foolish virgins make such a costly mistake? What does the oil represent? What is Jesus teaching through this parable?

The Parable of the Talents (14-30)

“The master was full of praise. ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!” Matthew 25:21

What was Jesus using this second parable to describe? What did the master do before he left on his journey? What did each servant do? What do the talents represent?

When did the master return What did he do? What report did two servants give? How did he command and reward them? What does this teach about God? How does he reward faithful servants?

What had the third servant been entrusted with? What had he done with it? What did he come and say to the master? How did the master respond? What did he do? (28-30) What was Jesus teaching here?

The Sheep and the Goats (31-46)

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world. For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’ Matthew 25:34-36

Bible Reading Plan Day 39
How will Jesus come again and what will he do? Who is included in this judgement? (32-33) What blessing will he give to the sheep on his right? (34) Why do they qualify to inherit the kingdom of God? (35, 36)

How will they respond to the King’s words? (37-39) Why are they surprised? How does King Jesus explain? (40) What does this reach us about King Jesus? About how to live as his people?

What will the King say to the goats on his left? What have they done to deserve such punishment? (42-43) What does their surprised response, (44) show about their selfish hearts?

What will King Jesus say? (45) How can our selfish hearts and inner motives be changed to be like his compassionate heart?

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

