Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 19, 2013

Thy Will Be Done!

There is a message being shared by multiple pastors, biblical leaders, Christian speakers/leaders, and many Christians themselves. Their message only includes select scriptures found in the New Testament – the parts which speak to the physical healing powers of Jesus. They are saying that we should “demand” what we want from God and He will grant it. I kid you not! I heard this message over the weekend. People are being told that they should not pray, “Thy will be done”, because it is a given that God’s will for mankind is to have those things that we ask for. The message being given is that when we pray for “His will to be done”, we are insulting God.

What???

This saddens me greatly and I feel that we are missing out on a far greater message when we believe that we will achieve all blessings here on earth. If we can have access to the perfect life here on earth, for what purpose are we living??? Who needs heaven??

I believe there were many men of great faith in the Bible. But one of them stood out above the others in the NT. Other than Jesus Christ Himself, no one walked on this earth with greater faith than Paul. And yet, by his own admission he was not whole.

2 Corinthians 12:7-10 (NLT), “even though I have received wonderful revelations from God. But to keep me from getting puffed up, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from getting proud. Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My gracious favor is all you need. My power works best in your weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weakness, so that the power of Christ may work through me. Since I know it is all for Christ’s good, I am quite content with my weaknesses and with insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Thy Will Be Done

He BEGGED the Lord on three different occasions to remove the thorn from his flesh, and each time the Lord told him, “My gracious favor is all you need. My power works best in your weakness.”

If I were to believe that we should not pray, “Thy will be done”, wouldn’t that mean I must believe Paul’s faith was not strong enough for the Lord to move in his life. I KNOW in my heart of hearts this is not true. Paul’s faith was great, but it was the Lord’s WILL for Paul to walk this earth with a thorn in his flesh.

While it is the Lord’s will for us all to be whole, nothing missing or broken, I also believe that we are not going to achieve all of that on earth. I have to say it again: what good is heaven if we can attain all of our blessings in this world?????

We were not made for this world; we were made for a better place.  We need to set our eyes on the prize and remember these words from Paul…

Philippians 3:13-14 (NLT) “No, dear brothers and sisters, I am still not all I should be, but I am focusing all my energies on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I strain to reach the end of the race and receive the prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us up to heaven.”

Thy Will Be Done pic 2

While some may say that we should not ask that God’s will be done in our lives, we also must remember that Jesus taught us how to pray and He prayed, “Thy will be done.” 

More than once!!  Was Jesus wrong?  I don’t think so!

In Matthew 6:9-13, I am sure you know that we can read what has come to be known as The Lord’s Prayer.

“Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.

Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread.

And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.

And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil:

For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever. Amen.

We also know that when Jesus knew what was going to happen to Him, He went to the Garden of Gethsemane to pray. He knew He was going have visible thorns nailed into His Body on the cross. He knew that they were going to place a crown of thorns on His head. Yet, the Bible says He spoke this prayer to His Father,

“My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.” Matthew 26:39

Jesus knew who was in control of His life.  He believed in the sovereignty of God.  We need to understand who is in control of every aspect of our lives, we need to believe in the sovereignty of God.

Our healing is going to come. I know this because I have faith in God and I believe what His Word says… But! We are not going to see total and complete healing in all areas here on earth. That will be part of our heavenly reward from God…totally whole; nothing missing, nothing broken.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

