Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 16, 2013

Love Like Jesus Loves!

We share it, we write about it and we point people to where they can find it in the Bible, but do we really live it in our lives? Do we really love people like Jesus loves us, like God loves us? It is easy to love the people who love us and agree with us!

“If you love only those who love you, why should you get credit for that? Even sinners love those who love them!” Luke 6:32

If I am reading Luke 6:32 correctly, we are not going to get any credit for loving those who love us. God notices and gives credit to our love, when we are sharing it with the difficult, sandpaper people in our lives. Have you shared some love with an enemy today?

Jesus prayed on the cross for those who were considered His enemies.

Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they don’t know what they are doing.” And the soldiers gambled for his clothes by throwing dice. Luke 23:34

We speak and share love with those people in our same Bible Study group. We speak and share love with the people who like our pages and follow our blogs. Some of us say “I love you” very easily to others, when we think they agree with us and follow our doctrines. But as soon as someone challenges us or holds us accountable for our, “I love you’s”, it becomes too difficult to love like Jesus and so we walk away.

“I love you’s” that come with conditions are not love, at all. They are empty and hollow words with no meaning! I want my words to have meaning. I want to love like Jesus loves…I want to love like God loves. I want to speak the languages of the earth and of the angels with love for all people. Not just the ones who love me and are easy for me to love!

1 Corinthians 13
New Living Translation (NLT)
Love Is the Greatest

13 If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. 3 If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it;[a] but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.

4 Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud 5 or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. 6 It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. 7 Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

8 Prophecy and speaking in unknown languages[b] and special knowledge will become useless. But love will last forever! 9 Now our knowledge is partial and incomplete, and even the gift of prophecy reveals only part of the whole picture! 10 But when the time of perfection comes, these partial things will become useless.

11 When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child. But when I grew up, I put away childish things. 12 Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity.[c] All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.

13 Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.

Footnotes:

1 Corinthians 13:3 Some manuscripts read sacrificed my body to be burned.
1 Corinthians 13:8 Or in tongues.
1 Corinthians 13:12 Greek see face to face.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

He Knows My Name

Sharing the Love of Christ

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

