Posted by: heisourstrongtower | February 6, 2013

Letting Go!

“Then the devil went away, and angels came and took care of Jesus.” Matthew 4:11

Matthew 4_11

Has God asked you to let go of something?  Have you done it or are you holding on to that “thing” tighter?  Are you allowing the devil to whisper in your hear, “You deserve to be happy!  This “thing” makes you happy!  It’s okay, God will forgive you…just do it!”

Can I just be completely honest with you here?  We may be tempted, but we don’t have to succumb…we have a better choice that we can make.   I understand, I have been there and I am sure I will be there again, but I know that I was made for more.  I know that you were made for more, we don’t have to settle for less than what God created us to be.  When we give into temptation, we are settling.

Where would the world be today, if Jesus had given into temptation???  Where would we be today if Jesus had settled for less than what God had called Him to do?

As we read in Matthew 4 yesterday, Jesus went to the desert and He fasted for forty days and nights…He was hungry, and yet, He did not give in to the voice of the devil.  Jesus fought the devil with the Word.

But Jesus told him, “No! The Scriptures say,

‘People do not live by bread alone,
    but by every word that comes from the mouth of God. Matthew 4:4

Jesus responded, “The Scriptures also say, ‘You must not test the Lord your God.’ Matthew 4:7

“Get out of here, Satan,” Jesus told him. “For the Scriptures say,

‘You must worship the Lord your God
    and serve only him.’ Matthew 4:10

Three times the devil came at Jesus and three times Jesus countered with words from the Bible.  We don’t need to write out a script or get a template off of the computer to help us fight off the words from the devil.  We just need to open our Bible and do what Jesus did!!!

Come on friends, say it with me…“GET OUT OF HERE, SATAN!!!  I am going to live my life as Jesus did and follow His example.  I am going to worship the Lord my God and serve only Him! I am letting go of ______________________.  God has asked me to release this and I have been resistant.  Well, no more!!  I love God more than _____________________, and I will serve Him only!”

If you said this with me…leave me a comment, so I can pray in agreement with you.  I don’t need to know what you released, I just want to kneel with you and I hope that you will kneel with me, to release to God those things that He has asked me to let go of too!

 

Responses

  1. Thank you, this was for me today. For too long now i have been holding on to certain things in my life that i know are wrong but to let go meant to trust and trust DOES not come easy to me. I so want to let go and begin this journey of trust and obey. I pray for Gods help to begin this today.

    • I will be praying for you to obey God by trustingly turning it all over to Him! He will help you!

  2. Patti – this is the “red letter words” that I am still working on. Just thought that I might add a note here:
    “The temptations that were thrown at Him were in three crucial areas: (1) physical needs and desires; (2) possessions and power; and (3) pride.”

    That came from my NIV Life Application Study Bible… I can’t help but wonder if there were other temptations that maybe Jesus didn’t tell to Matthew and Luke – temptation that were not recorded. I say that because if you look at these three things, physical needs, etc., you have pretty much covered a LOT of material… Do you think that this was Jesus’ intent – to show that all or almost all of our temptation can be resisted in one of these three things? Just throwing that out there as food for thought…

    Loved your blog entry – and it helped me to clear up a couple things in my own mind that had me kind of stumped in applying this to my life… (like I need help applying temptation! yea, right…. LOL)

    Love ya!! ❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

