Posted by: heisourstrongtower | January 19, 2013

Four Generations

“But the love of the LORD remains forever with those who fear him. His salvation extends to the children’s children…” Psalm 103:17

Psalm 103-17[9]

I was blessed by God last night to sit in church with my mother, my daughter and my daughter’s daughter…four generations sitting in church together; it was a sweet gift from God for me.  I found myself getting emotional several times during the service and was thankful that I had some tissue with me.

This morning as I thought back upon our evening there are several snap shots that I will forever carry in my mind and most especially in my heart.

  1. The picture of us before the service sitting together and each mother/daughter pair snapping iphone photos of ourselves.  Avery and Sara were having much more fun with their snapshots…they weren’t looking for the tell-tale wrinkles that my mother and I were seeing in our photo shoot.   Although I have to say there was laughter from both pairs over the results.  I love to laugh with them!!!!
  2. The picture of my daughter and granddaughter during praise and worship time.  Avery was standing on her chair, so she could see, with one arm always resting on her mommy’s shoulder.  They were clapping and laughing and bonding…everything they did was with sweet abandon; no self-consciousness on their parts.  This little girl loves my daughter so very much…she may not have been born from Sara’s body, but Sara is her mommy in her heart.  The feeling is mutual!
  3. The picture of us singing Hosanna by Hillsong United.  Singing the words, “I see a generation rising up to take their place…,” with my granddaughter…love!!!!
  4. The picture of the four of us listening to the message from Pastor Nicole.  My mom nodding her head in agreement to Pastor Nicole’s words.  Sara and Avery speaking life and love to each other with great big beautiful smiles on their faces.  (The topic of the sermon was controlling your tongue).
  5. After the message…it was karaoke time!  Yep…this is one picture that will be virtually impossible to erase…the four of us, on stage together, singing Avery’s pick for “her gang”; YMCA!!!!  Priceless and yes, there are photos and I do believe someone took video too.  YIKES!!
  6. The picture of us walking off the stage and a lady saying to my mom, “That was really good.” And my mom replying, “Thank you…you just witnessed four generations singing together.”
  7. The picture of Sara and Avery walking out of the church to go get the car; hand in hand, and heart to heart!

Dear Lord,

Thank You for this time we shared together last night.  Thank You for these memory snap shots that nothing can ever destroy.  Thank You that I can write them down and one day Avery can read this and be reminded of how very much she is loved by the three generations that came before her.  Thank You Lord, for bringing her, her brothers and her daddy into our lives, they perfectly compliment Sara and Joshua!  Thank You Lord for this beautiful family!  Thank You Lord for family!  In Jesus name, Amen

Hosanna – Hillsong lyrics

I promise to share a real snapshot from the event, when they are posted by the church.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

