Posted by: heisourstrongtower | November 22, 2012

The Names Of Jesus

As I was beginning my quiet time this morning…I felt an urgency from God to read the devotion in the new book I bought, “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus”.  I shared yesterday’s devotion on the Many Strands Page called “Set Free” and today’s devotion is called “What’s in a Name?”  It is a 365 day devotional that’s inspiration comes from Christian Songs…my last name aside, I LOVE music; Christian music most of all!!!

He is the Mighty King, Master of everything.

His Name Is Wonderful

The Bible lists over seven hundred names for Jesus: Lord, Mighty Counselor, Lamb of God, Messiah, Son of David, Redeemer, Savior, Bread of Life, and Alpha and Omega to name a few.  Have you ever wondered why there are so many?  In biblical times, parents often named their children based on some descriptive aspect of their child’s character or appearance.  In Jesus’ case, his many names served as a description of how he impacted the lives of those he touched.  Matthew’s Gospel opens by referring to Jesus as the “Son of David,” which speaks to Jesus’ lineage.  In John 6:48, Jesus calls himself “the Bread of Life,” meaning that he is the spiritual source that sustains us all. 

One of the most powerful names for Jesus is Alpha and Omega – the first and last letters of the Greek alphabet.  He is the omnipotent One!  The first and the last, the Master of everything!  He was the beginning and he will be the end!

Claim his name for your situation today.  He promises to be everything you need!

King of Glory, Savior of us all, Omnipotent One, thank you that in everything we can call your name! Revelation 1:8

God is directing my steps through these words and He is answering the prayers that have been spoken over the Many Strands page for where we go next, after “Unglued.”

A few months back I had a conversation with a good friend about some of the Many Strands challenges and she suggested that I look into studying the names of Jesus.  I took her idea and tucked it back in my mind for future consideration, but it never stayed in the back of my mind.  God keeps bringing it to the forefront of my mind…week after week after week after week.  Not a single week has gone by where God has not brought a devotion, a pinterest picture, a Bible verse, a song…that speaks to the many names of Jesus.  Today…He hit me over the head with it and placed it on my heart.  This devotion spoke to my heart, not just my head and for me…that is how God works in my life.

As I have shared in the past…whenever God has a plan for my life…He plants His idea and then He places it in every path I take.  If I look to the left…His plan is there, if I look to the right…His plan is there, if I look up…His plan is there…there is no escaping His plan.  He makes His will known and it is coming through very clearly to me through the words in this devotion today.

He has my attention and now I am going to be walking in obedience to God’s call.  The next study that the Many Strands page will be working on will be about praying the names of Jesus.  There are several resources out there for us to choose from and I will be prayerfully considering the various options and will get back to you soon, with God’s decision.

I ask that you pray in agreement with me for the Lord’s direction and guidance on this decision and the future of the Many Strands page.  He truly is the founder and the foundation upon which this page has been built, it has not been fast, but it has been steady.  I see every day the work of His hands in the lives of the women who are in our groups.  He is using us to touch the hearts and lives of people who, as far as I know, have no knowledge of the Many Strands page or its studies.

Thank You God that Your hand is on each of us and that You are the Truth, the Light and the Way!  We praise Your name and we claim that today we can stand solidly on the Rock!  We might be shaken from time to time, but we know the One who has Redeemed us and He is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.  In the name of Jesus we pray, Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

