Posted by: heisourstrongtower | November 17, 2012

Have You had a Moment with God Today????

Moments with God…

Have you had a moment with God today?

I felt the need to provide some clarity regarding “Moments with God” this morning.  You have to approach a moment with God with a heart that is pure and free from sin.  Prayer and confession should be at the beginning of our quiet times.  We need to be free of anything that hinders God’s ability to move in our lives.

I found this prayer on-line and I think it is a wonderful prayer to use at the beginning of our quiet times.  It is something to get you started and you can adjust it to fit your own personal needs each day.  It isn’t about the words you speak…it is about the motivating factor behind those words.  “A good person produces good things from the treasury of a good heart, and an evil person produces evil things from the treasury of an evil heart. What you say flows from what is in your heart.” Luke 6:45

Dear Lord,

I thank You for this day.

I thank You for being able to see and hear this morning.

I’m blessed because You are a forgiving God and an understanding God.

You have done so much for me and You continue to bless me.

Forgive me this day for everything I have done, said, or thought that was not pleasing to You. 

Please keep me safe from all danger and harm. Help me to start this day with a new attitude and plenty of gratitude. Let me make the best of each and every day to clear my mind so that I can hear from You. Please broaden my mind that I can accept all things. Let me not worry over things I cannot control.  

Continue to use me to do Your will. Continue to bless me that I may be a blessing to others. Keep me strong that I may help the weak. Keep me uplifted that I may have words of encouragement for others. I pray for those that are lost and cannot find their way. I pray for those misjudged and misunderstood. And for those who do not know You intimately. 

I believe God, alone, can change people. I pray for my family. I pray for peace, love, and joy. That all their needs are met in Your honor. I know that there is no problem, situation, or circumstance greater than God.  Open my eyes to see what You have planned for my day and open my ears to hear Your voice above the noise and confusion in this world.  In Jesus name, Amen. – Unknown 

Now that you have prayed, you need to determine what you are going to read during your quiet time.  I begin by reading a devotional and then I go to biblegateway and read the verses that are referenced in that devotional.  I like the fact that I can change translations to see which one resonates within me as I read.  I then copy and paste the verse or verses that are standing out to me in a word document for reference later during my quiet time.  I then type out why I feel God is directing me to that particular verse(s) and what it means to me in my life, at this time.  (I have started printing out these documents and gluing them into my journal.  Every time I get out the glue…it reminds me that God is the glue and He keeps everything together.  It is a literal and figurative action on my part to use as a reminder to stay glued to God…not glued to my actions or reactions).

Obey what you feel God is bringing into your life during your quiet time. Go into your devotional time ready for God to reveal Himself to you and to open up your eyes and ears to some changes that need to be made in your life.  Then move forward from that moment with intention to make those changes and to walk with this new perspective.

Moments with God are about more than just reading the devotional that I share with you each day.  I am praying that these moments resonate within you and that you allow God to transcend the words and make a real change in your heart.

Here is the devotional for “Moments with God” for today…don’t just read this, saturate yourself in it and visualize wearing sackcloth and visualize wearing silk, answer the questions at the end and write this all down in your prayer journal.

Sackcloth and Silk

November 17th, 2012 Marilyn Ehle 

“I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness…” (Isaiah 61:10)

Frequently in the Bible we read of people wearing sackcloth as an outward expression of repentance. Sacking was a rough cloth woven of camel or goat hair, hemp, cotton or flax. When it was woven into prickly clothing it became an unavoidable reminder of one’s sinful condition.

For the follower of Jesus, repentance from sin is always necessary but the Apostle John is quick to point out that when we “confess our sins, He (God) is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9) When we walk in the light with a conscience cleared by the Holy Spirit, we do not need to wear sackcloth.

 

Imagine yourself wearing a shirt or dress made from sacking. Think about your posture and your movements. Can you imagine what it would feel like as you squirmed to escape the roughness against your skin? Now imagine that same garment made from the finest silk or cashmere. In your mind’s eye, run your hand over the fabric. Feel the silky softness. Look at the elegant draping. This is a garment we would all like to have in our wardrobe!

The “garments of salvation” and the “robes of righteousness” are like that silk robe. Jesus bought them for us as He was stripped of His own garments on the cross. He wore nothing so we could be arrayed in clothing envied by the richest of monarchs. We may not be able to walk into elegant boutiques and buy silk and cashmere, but we delight and rejoice for all that God has purchased for us.

God, Thank you for the unbelievable sacrifice that Jesus made for me. When Satan tries to give me sackcloth to wear, reminding me of my guilt and shame, show me that I am forgiven as soon as I ask for it. Remind me that You have provided silk for me to wear. I don’t need to walk around in my old, stinky sin because You have made me new. Amen.

Questions: Do you ever feel like you should be wearing sackcloth? What will you do to remind yourself that your salvation is paid for and the sackcloth is no longer needed?

 

 

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Shandra Harris With Heart Wide Open and commented:
    Gods perfect timing . Words and strenghth from the seasons of “Weary” to the seasons Refreshed”, Renewed” Trusting you’ll find a “Moment” with God this very day. Shandra

  2. My own time with God this morning was spent reflecting on repentance as well. I love it when He affirms what we are hearing through the heart of another. God bless you today and always!
    – Shannon

    • The people who know me best, know that I love me some confirmation!!! I am so happy that God allowed me to be a vessel of confirmation for you today! We serve an awesome God!


Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

