Posted by: heisourstrongtower | November 5, 2012

EMPTY

“But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!”

I thought I would receive some answers while I was resting and relaxing this past week…but that isn’t how God decided to work on me.  It was upon my return from our trip that God spoke to me, in my own home, during the peace and quiet of my morning devotional time.  He used one word as the catalyst of my epiphany this morning…”empty.”  I have to be empty of what consumes me most, before God can fill me with what I need the most…the fruits of His Spirit.

I have been going backwards in so many ways lately.  I have been feeding my worry and my thoughts; both literally and figuratively, instead of feasting on God’s smorgasbord of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and most importantly, for me right now, His self-control.

“’Don’t call me Naomi,’ she responded. ‘Instead, call me Mara, for the Almighty has made life very bitter for me. I went away full, but the Lord has brought me home empty.’” (Ruth 1:20-21, NLT)

This is the Bible verse that jumped out at me this morning and brought clarity, and direction to my life.  I have been feeling empty and bitter, lately.  I did not realize it until this morning, but I have actually been a bit mad at God.  I have been looking for “quick God fixes” of certain situations, so that I can feel His peace again and I realized this morning that maybe, the quick fix is not always the best idea and usually does not stick.

It obviously has not stuck with me…or why would I be right back to where I was a little over a year ago????  Well, not totally back to where I was then…I have made some imperfect progress; I am walking every day.  I just need to release the hold I have on that bowl of ice cream each night and remember that it only brings me a temporary satisfaction…not the lasting kind that can only come from holding onto God.

I have to push some things out of me…to allow God to fill me!  I have to push out the worry, sadness and despair that is weighing me down and start digesting, really digesting…His word.  I read and read and read, and the reading distracts me from dealing with what I need to deal with.  And, then I pray…but my prayers are mostly, “Please, Lord…do this, do that, change this person, change that situation.”

When in reality my prayers need to be “Lord, I know that You have the answer and You are the answer to every question or concern I have.  Change me, Lord.  Transform me!  Fill me, Lord!  Do a work in me, so that I am doing the work that You have planned for my life.  I don’t want to feel bitter and empty!  Lord, I want Your love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control to flow throughout my body.  I want to be filled with You and nothing else!!!!  In the name of Jesus, Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

heatherbleier.wordpress.com/

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Romans 12:2

pastor jeff's neighborhood

It's a beautiful day in my neighborhood . . . won't you be my neighbor?

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

Give me 5 minutes a day and I'll give you a happier, more successful life

Ideas for success in relationships, career, happiness, health, wealth, with some jokes thrown in for fun

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Yelena Bosovik

An ordinary twenty-something serving an extraordinary God.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

LIVE LOVE

Live. Love. Change The World.

Revelations In Writing

God's greatest gifts as I go...

Did I Say That Out Loud?

Seeking His truth and perspective daily...

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

Striving For Wisdom

Striving to be a wise son, and encouraging others to do likewise

Oaks Of Righteousness

Isaiah 61:1-3 "The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has annointed me; He has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lords's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; and to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion -- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called Oaks of Righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display His glory.

Glory to Glory

Christian Life Coaching for Purpose-filled Living

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

